Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this cake for a cookout with the only modification being that I doubled the key lime juice added to the cake batter. I got lots of positive comments from the guests, but In my opinion, the cake mix I used (Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme) was way too lemony. I couldn't get the tartness of the lime to come through. The glaze is really where all the key lime flavor comes from. Therefore, I wonder if this recipe might be better with a white cake mix. As it is, the key lime glaze competes with the lemon flavor of the cake. I'm also going to try a modification--a pina colada cake made with coconut cake mix, vanilla pudding and pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Good, not spectacular. Can see it being better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This cake was very good although here in my area it is very hard to find key lime juice. I think I will try this recipe next time using just regular lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was good. But a lot of people thought it was a lemon cake. So if your really craving key-lime you might wanna keep looking. But it did taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Five stars because it was moist, lightly tart, easy to make. But, I wouldn't describe it as lime or even Key Lime. Maybe a citrus cake and people can tweak the recipe to add there own orange, lemon, or lime juice for desired result. Good cake overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
For the most part I really like citrus cakes made with cake mixes, but there are always a couple of challenges. One is to disguise that tell-tale cake mix taste. The other is to get the cake to live up to its name with a robust citrus flavor. Because of some experience with this I took a little liberty with this recipe which does have a good starting point, particularly since it doesn't call for Jell-o! If this is a lime cake I thought it counterproductive to use a lemon cake mix and lemon pudding - I used vanilla for both. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla, a tsp. of lime extract and, for good measure, a tablespoon of grated lime zest! For the liquid I upped the lime juice to a half cup, used only a half cup of water and called it a day. As for the glaze, I kept it thick, adding only enough lime juice to get it to approximately the consistency of Elmer's glue. I also added a good amount of grated lime zest. It turned out to be a lovely, "graceful" cake, if there is such a thing. Light, fluffy, with a delicate lime taste, spiked with the zestier lime glaze. I'm very pleased with this but if I make it again I may add even more lime juice, zest and extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Ok, I've done something that usually drives me crazy, I substituted ingredients! I used a white cake mix and lime jello, and this turned out really yummy. To be fair, I'm gonna try it again without substituting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The cake is very good but definitely not Key Lime. It is a lemon cake with key lime glaze. Taste good though if you like lemon cake. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made this cake for dessert after a seafood dinner. It was fantastic!!!! I did make a few changes. I used a White Cake mix and Lime Jello. It was so light and fluffy!! With the Key Lime Glaze, it just melts in your mouth!! The glaze is a little thin and soaks into the cake. It tastes good but I like it a little thicker so I will probably add some more powdered suger to it next time. There will DEFINITELY be a next time. It is sooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This cake was really good! I accidentally had cook and serve pudding but it worked fine. I made it for a funeral and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States