Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Pretty good, may use this recipe as a base for Mojito Cake with Rum flavored glaze and mint sprigs all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious. Used lemon cake mix, vanilla pudding and upped the amount of key lime to half cup in both the cake and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WatneFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this cake for my sister. She said it was "delish". I did make changes as some had suggested. I changed the lime juice amount to 8 tablespoons. Also, the cake mix was changed to white cake mix. I melted homemade cream cheese frosting and pour it over the cake once it was cool. Four stars only because I had to alter the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiFree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Oh goodness this is so delcious. It was so moist and light with the most wonderful lime flavor. Who would have thought this came from a couple of boxes... I used vanilla fat free pudding mix as that was all I had to hand. I know I will be making this again soon. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Everyone in the house loved it, and that's a rare occurrence. My two children and a close family friend raved and said the lemon cake was a smarter choice than the white cake (a suggestion I read). I did add extra (a couple of teaspoons) key lime juice to the mix and an extra teaspoon to the glaze. The cake came out moist, lemony and with a nice subtle lime flavor. Very good. Will make this again. Thank you Kaye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fantastic - simple and delicious. My only (small) disappointment is that it didn't have a lot of lime flavor, just lemon. No other complaints, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hbh416
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe is good, but not exceptional. The glaze has more flavor than the cake. But, considering how easy it was to make, I'd say it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbh416

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Beautiful and delicious! Made for my mom's birthday today and it was a hit with everyone! I followed recipe exactly, aside from subbing vanilla pudding mix for the lemon, as it was all we had. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was nice, moist cake, although it really just tasted like lemon cake, I didn't really get the key lime flavor too much. But it was a nice cake and something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have made this twice now- once exactly as the recipe states, and once with a few modifications recommended by other people. With the modifications, I would easily give it 5+ stars. Although it is good made as the recipe states, it definitely tastes like a lemon cake- no one knew it was supposed to be key lime. The second time I made it, I used a white cake mix, vanilla pudding, and 1/2 c. water and 1/2 c. key lime juice, 1c. oil and 4 eggs for the cake mix. For the glaze, I used 4 tbsp melted butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, and 1/2 c. key lime juice. I poked holes in the bottom of the cake when still warm and poured have the glaze over the cake to soak in. Once it was cool, I turned the cake over onto a serving plate and poured the rest of the glaze on at that time. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States