Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious. Used lemon cake mix, vanilla pudding and upped the amount of key lime to half cup in both the cake and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WatneFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this cake for my sister. She said it was "delish". I did make changes as some had suggested. I changed the lime juice amount to 8 tablespoons. Also, the cake mix was changed to white cake mix. I melted homemade cream cheese frosting and pour it over the cake once it was cool. Four stars only because I had to alter the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiFree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Oh goodness this is so delcious. It was so moist and light with the most wonderful lime flavor. Who would have thought this came from a couple of boxes... I used vanilla fat free pudding mix as that was all I had to hand. I know I will be making this again soon. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Everyone in the house loved it, and that's a rare occurrence. My two children and a close family friend raved and said the lemon cake was a smarter choice than the white cake (a suggestion I read). I did add extra (a couple of teaspoons) key lime juice to the mix and an extra teaspoon to the glaze. The cake came out moist, lemony and with a nice subtle lime flavor. Very good. Will make this again. Thank you Kaye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fantastic - simple and delicious. My only (small) disappointment is that it didn't have a lot of lime flavor, just lemon. No other complaints, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hbh416
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe is good, but not exceptional. The glaze has more flavor than the cake. But, considering how easy it was to make, I'd say it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbh416

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Beautiful and delicious! Made for my mom's birthday today and it was a hit with everyone! I followed recipe exactly, aside from subbing vanilla pudding mix for the lemon, as it was all we had. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was nice, moist cake, although it really just tasted like lemon cake, I didn't really get the key lime flavor too much. But it was a nice cake and something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have made this twice now- once exactly as the recipe states, and once with a few modifications recommended by other people. With the modifications, I would easily give it 5+ stars. Although it is good made as the recipe states, it definitely tastes like a lemon cake- no one knew it was supposed to be key lime. The second time I made it, I used a white cake mix, vanilla pudding, and 1/2 c. water and 1/2 c. key lime juice, 1c. oil and 4 eggs for the cake mix. For the glaze, I used 4 tbsp melted butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, and 1/2 c. key lime juice. I poked holes in the bottom of the cake when still warm and poured have the glaze over the cake to soak in. Once it was cool, I turned the cake over onto a serving plate and poured the rest of the glaze on at that time. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States