Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
very good great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this into cupcakes and did not make the glaze. The cake was good, but still more of a lemon cake rather than a lime cake. The cupcakes were still very good and incredibly moist. I chose to make a lime cream cheese frosting. I used one of the lemon cream cheese frosting recipes from this site, and just subbed lime in place of the lemon. These were very popular at the get together I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I, too, used white cake mix & vanilla pudding. I added 1 Tbls. of lime zest and increased the lime juice to about 8 Tbls. in the batter. I had handful of macadamia nuts which I toasted and chopped and sprinkled over the icing...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is similar to the one on Duncan Hines website. I made it yesturday with a few changes. I used Real lime juice instead of Key lime, I only had vanilla pudding so I added lemon juice instead of water, and I added a little margarita mix. The website recipe directs you to let cake cool 25 mins, then take it out of the pan and poke small holes in the top and bottom, return to pan and pour glaze over it so it is absorbed. I did follow that but I put a small amount of glaze in the pan before returning it, and made a little extra to put on top once it was completly cool. Turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARaleigh
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wow! What a great blend of tart and sweet! And this recipe is super easy! Thanks for posting, Kaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was a fabulous cake. Due to what I had onhand, I used lemons vs. key limes. This cake was wonderful and very pretty cake slices. I did wait to glaze the cake until it was all the way cool. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious and moist with subtle lime flavor. I used a vanilla cake and pudding mix. As another writer did, I added 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup key lime juice, and zest of one lime. For unexpected flavor in the glaze, I added 2 TBS limoncello liqueur and one TBS key lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan A.
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made the cake as a bunt, and did not change the recipe at all. The family loved it! My daughter told her preschool class the next day that “My Mom made a awesome butt cake yesterday!”. This does have a strong Key Lime flavor, we love key lime so I did not mind at all. Give it a try you will happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by peppermintkathy
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've made this numerous times, everybody loves it! Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppermintkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Pretty good, may use this recipe as a base for Mojito Cake with Rum flavored glaze and mint sprigs all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States