Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Very moist cake but tasted more like lemon than lime. Next time I will try a yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding. Hopefully then the lime will come through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
A few little changes really add some zing to the already good recipe. First, I add chopped pecans. Second, my glaze consists of 1/2 stick butter, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup fresh key lime juice boiled for 4-5 minutes, then drizzled over cake. Let cake sit overnight before serving. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I thought this was great - but I didn't really get a strong key lime flavor in the cake itself. But the kick was in the glaze! I will definitely make again - but I may not go through the effort of squeezing all the key limes for the cake component - just the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Good flavor. If you are using a bundt pan, be very careful unmolding as it is a very moist cake. Also tastes great and looks pretty with a little grated lime zest in glaze dripped over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I am giving this cake a 4 star rating ONLY because it was so moist and easy to make. I did like that aspect of it. I did not however think it tasted like key lime pie, it just tasted like a super sweet lemon cake. I even added extra key lime juice to the batter and icing/glaze. also did pierce the top all over with a fork then iced directly after bringing out of the oven. My husband took it to work this morning, we will see if the plate comes back empty and if so, they liked it. I will try this again only because I am a fan of citrus and it was truly very moist. This time though, I will top with a cook whip frosting only because I think a traditional frosting would make it that much sweeter and would be to heavy for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS MURRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I took this cake to a fiesta potluck for work, and it was well received. I'm not sure whether the flavor was more lemony or more lime-y, but it had a very good flavor and texture. I like the tangy glaze! I might call it lemon-lime cake, to avoid confusion... Note: I don't own a bundt pan so I made it in 9x13 and it worked out fine, only taking a little over 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was a pretty good recipe. I did make a few changes though. The first time I made it I made it exactly how the recipe said and it had too much of a lemon tast not enough key lime. The second time I used a white cake mix instead and added 2 more tablespoons of key lime juice and 3 drops of green food coloring. It turned out much better. Overall a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Wonderful!! this got lots of rave reviews at a potluck. I used a little more lime in the cake and icing to make it more tart. I also put half the icing on while warm and the other half when cold. This made it look great! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My family loved this cake! I let the bundt cake cool completely before I drizzled the icing over. Very nice, tangy flavor, moist. Great with a cup of tea. So yummy!! I'm going to try adding poppy seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Everybody LOVED this cake and I was asked for the recipe several times. I made it in a bundt pan but PLEASE NOTE: Spray an ample amount of cooking spray into the pan because it did stick and I had to 'glue' some of the top back on with the glaze. Also, I drizzled half of the glaze on when it was warm, which sunk into the cake and made it very moist; however, I waited to apply the other half until it was cool so that it would have a visible glazed look - really great and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States