Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
this recipe is simply sweet great for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This cake is very good and moist. I agree that it has a strong lemon flavor - I was hoping for more key lime flavor but it was delicious nonetheless. Next time I may follow other reviewers' advice to make vanilla cake/vanilla pudding for the key lime to stand out. I tried to find key lime pudding but didn't have any luck. I made it into a heart-shaped cake and 5 mini bundt cakes. Baked in about 20-25 minutes. The bottom line is that this is a good lemon/key lime cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this into a lemon cake. Used vanilla pudding because it was all I had and used lemon juice where it called for key-lime. Same with the icing. Best lemon pound cake I've tasted in quite some time. Although the icing dripped on is great, this would be equally good just dusted with confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Kryvko
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This cake is very yummy - and so easy! I made it for a 4th of July barbeque, and it was a huge hit! I used strawberries for garnish, but otherwise followed the recipe as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kryvko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Very moist cake but tasted more like lemon than lime. Next time I will try a yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding. Hopefully then the lime will come through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
A few little changes really add some zing to the already good recipe. First, I add chopped pecans. Second, my glaze consists of 1/2 stick butter, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup fresh key lime juice boiled for 4-5 minutes, then drizzled over cake. Let cake sit overnight before serving. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I thought this was great - but I didn't really get a strong key lime flavor in the cake itself. But the kick was in the glaze! I will definitely make again - but I may not go through the effort of squeezing all the key limes for the cake component - just the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Good flavor. If you are using a bundt pan, be very careful unmolding as it is a very moist cake. Also tastes great and looks pretty with a little grated lime zest in glaze dripped over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I am giving this cake a 4 star rating ONLY because it was so moist and easy to make. I did like that aspect of it. I did not however think it tasted like key lime pie, it just tasted like a super sweet lemon cake. I even added extra key lime juice to the batter and icing/glaze. also did pierce the top all over with a fork then iced directly after bringing out of the oven. My husband took it to work this morning, we will see if the plate comes back empty and if so, they liked it. I will try this again only because I am a fan of citrus and it was truly very moist. This time though, I will top with a cook whip frosting only because I think a traditional frosting would make it that much sweeter and would be to heavy for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS MURRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I took this cake to a fiesta potluck for work, and it was well received. I'm not sure whether the flavor was more lemony or more lime-y, but it had a very good flavor and texture. I like the tangy glaze! I might call it lemon-lime cake, to avoid confusion... Note: I don't own a bundt pan so I made it in 9x13 and it worked out fine, only taking a little over 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States