Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is one of our new summer favorites! I wouldn't call it "lime," but it does have a great citrus flavor. Very light...great when served with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmcormier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This cake is moist and nice and tart. Everyone thinks it is store bought and it is always the first to go at any function. UPDATE: I only use 1 C. powdered sugar and 2 Tbsp. of key lime juice for the glaze, and I let the cake cool completely before putting it on. I have made this cake several times. The picture is of the cake my husband made for me on my b-day. He was very proud of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is a very easy, very tasty recipe. The previous comments stating that this cake has much more lemon flavor than lime are absolutely correct. I would never have tasted this blindly and thought it was a key lime cake. However, it has fantastic, rich, moist lemon flavor and will not disappoint if you like lemon. I made the recipe exactly as written, making sure to grease and flour the bundt pan before adding batter. I waited for the cake to cool before adding glaze, and then topped with lime zest and fresh blueberries. Served it to friends at a BBQ and they raved. It really is just delicious. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
NOTE: Cake sticks! Grease or spray AND flour, and use a knife to loosen before trying to turnout. This cake is great, but man does it stick. I made it twice for a Mother's Day brunch (the first one came out in two not so pretty pieces). I used a Dr. Oetker Organic Lemon Cakemix, which I think minimized the overpowering lemon taste that some others mentioned. It was a couple ounces short, so I added 2 ounces of white whole wheat flour and a pinch of baking soda. I also bought a bottle of 100% key lime juice at Wholefoods and used that in the cake and glaze. I followed others' suggestions and used half the glaze while the cake was warm and the other half when it had cooled. I garnished with fresh raspberries to rave reviews. It's moist, light, and key limey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Made this cake in bundt pan, did not have key lime juice so I used 1/2 lemon juice 1/2 lime juice for key lime flavor. This was delicious, made for family get together and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My parents love this cake. A very good recipe. Nice and moist, just right. I would wait for it to cool a bit before glazing. Also, don’t be shy on the cooking spray… you might regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
this recipe is simply sweet great for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This cake is very good and moist. I agree that it has a strong lemon flavor - I was hoping for more key lime flavor but it was delicious nonetheless. Next time I may follow other reviewers' advice to make vanilla cake/vanilla pudding for the key lime to stand out. I tried to find key lime pudding but didn't have any luck. I made it into a heart-shaped cake and 5 mini bundt cakes. Baked in about 20-25 minutes. The bottom line is that this is a good lemon/key lime cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this into a lemon cake. Used vanilla pudding because it was all I had and used lemon juice where it called for key-lime. Same with the icing. Best lemon pound cake I've tasted in quite some time. Although the icing dripped on is great, this would be equally good just dusted with confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Kryvko
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This cake is very yummy - and so easy! I made it for a 4th of July barbeque, and it was a huge hit! I used strawberries for garnish, but otherwise followed the recipe as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kryvko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States