Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
great recipe i took it for thanksgiving and got rave reviews. i did add a little more lime but still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
im trying to make little mini bundt cakes with this recipe using a mini bundt cake pan. I overcooked them slightly at 20 minutes. I also added 7 drops of green food coloring. I may only use 5 next time. I also added a drop to the icing, but it ended up st. patrick's green, haha. I wish I knew how to make the icing stick to the top rather than soak in. I tried thicker icing and letting the cakes cool a bit this time, but it still set in. I'm going to try this a few times more till I get it right. Mini bundt cakes are so cute, especially key lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I couldn't find key limes, so I just used regular ones. Added blueberries over the top after adding the glaze. Everyone raved about this one...it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Should be called a Lemon Cake rather than a Key Lime Cake! Yes, it's moist, and the frosting adds a bit of tartness, but the cake is anything but key lime! Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I substituted vanilla store bought icing adding the zest and juice of one lime to it. So far everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
After reading all the reviews on this cake, I decided to simply make a lemon cake, so I replaced the key lime juice with lemon juice. This is a very easy recipe and the cake was very good, but it lacked that "WOW" factor that I was hoping for. My kids (ages 11, 12 and 13) said that this cake was "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This cake was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
It was OK, but it was still very dry. I followed the recipe EXACTLY but it turned out dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My guests and I loved this cake! I will agree that its not very strong on the key lime flavor if that's what you were looking for, but its an excellent lemon cake. For the glaze, I used 1 c. sugar and key lime juice to make the glaze the right consistency. I also got tired of squeezing the key limes, so used a little lemon juice for the glaze. I baked these in mini bundt pans for about 25 minutes and drizzled half the glaze while warm and the other half while cool so that it looked pretty! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've had a taste for key lime pie all summer, so thought I would try this recipe. I couldn't find key lime juice so I substituted regular lime juice. I don't know what the difference is, but my family all thought it was a lemon cake. It has a very nice texture, almost like a pound cake and it was very delicious. The glaze definitely helps bring out the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States