Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made this cake for dessert after a seafood dinner. It was fantastic!!!! I did make a few changes. I used a White Cake mix and Lime Jello. It was so light and fluffy!! With the Key Lime Glaze, it just melts in your mouth!! The glaze is a little thin and soaks into the cake. It tastes good but I like it a little thicker so I will probably add some more powdered suger to it next time. There will DEFINITELY be a next time. It is sooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This cake was really good! I accidentally had cook and serve pudding but it worked fine. I made it for a funeral and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used a yellow cake mix, because it had reduced sugar (sweetened with splenda). I also wanted to add a coconut flavor, so I used coconut creme pudding mix, added a tsp of coconut flavoring, and in between light drizzles of glaze I sprinkled shredded coconut on top. I used 1% fat milk instead of water, and the cake turned out yummy and moist. I also doubled the amount of lime juice in the cake and added an extra tbls to the glaze. the glaze was very limey yummy, but the cake, to me, wasn't as much (maybe because I used yellow instead of white?). my friends that tried it gave it a thumbs up, saying you don't want too much lime and that they liked it. I have a key lime tree, so was looking for recipes to use them up! The next time, I might try coconut milk instead of water/regular milk for a truly decadent cake. I can't wait to take the leftovers to work tomorrow and see how it goes over with that crowd. It's the day after, and the cake is still incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good for a box cake variation and a great way to use lime juice (we have a tree and LOTS of limes!). I didn't give it 5 stars, because there's just not anything really special about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great cake for a hot summer day! I read reviews and followed a few suggestions. Used white cake mix with green food color, added pecans, too. I added my own twist by making a thicker glaze - just powdered sugar and milk - then sprinkled with dark chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This cake is awesome...I did the bundt style, and it took a full 45 min, at 325. Also, I added the lime zest to the cake batter to make it taste less like a lemon cake. Make sure to grease AND flour your pan, or it will never come out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audramama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Awesome flavor! I would use either more key lime juice or zest in the cake for added lime flavor. I brushed the top of the cake with lime juice before adding glaze...very nice. Cake is moist and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I used more key lime juice than called for in both the cake and the glaze and it was ooouuuttt of this wooooorld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was yummy!!! I couldn't find key limes so I just used bottled lime juice. Still very good! I used applesauce and egg beaters to make it healthier, but the egg beaters made it a dense cake, more like a pound and not a bundt cake. It was a huge hit at my bbq! I served with the Triple Berry Sorbet recipe for a nice compliment to the sweet/tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This cake was a huge hit very moist, it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States