Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was a hit at our 4th of July party. I used vanilla instead of lemon pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Everyone loved this cake it is so moist and great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Good cake! Taste more like lemon pound cake with a hint of lime. I added a bit more key lime juice to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this cake for a cookout with the only modification being that I doubled the key lime juice added to the cake batter. I got lots of positive comments from the guests, but In my opinion, the cake mix I used (Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme) was way too lemony. I couldn't get the tartness of the lime to come through. The glaze is really where all the key lime flavor comes from. Therefore, I wonder if this recipe might be better with a white cake mix. As it is, the key lime glaze competes with the lemon flavor of the cake. I'm also going to try a modification--a pina colada cake made with coconut cake mix, vanilla pudding and pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Good, not spectacular. Can see it being better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This cake was very good although here in my area it is very hard to find key lime juice. I think I will try this recipe next time using just regular lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was good. But a lot of people thought it was a lemon cake. So if your really craving key-lime you might wanna keep looking. But it did taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Five stars because it was moist, lightly tart, easy to make. But, I wouldn't describe it as lime or even Key Lime. Maybe a citrus cake and people can tweak the recipe to add there own orange, lemon, or lime juice for desired result. Good cake overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
For the most part I really like citrus cakes made with cake mixes, but there are always a couple of challenges. One is to disguise that tell-tale cake mix taste. The other is to get the cake to live up to its name with a robust citrus flavor. Because of some experience with this I took a little liberty with this recipe which does have a good starting point, particularly since it doesn't call for Jell-o! If this is a lime cake I thought it counterproductive to use a lemon cake mix and lemon pudding - I used vanilla for both. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla, a tsp. of lime extract and, for good measure, a tablespoon of grated lime zest! For the liquid I upped the lime juice to a half cup, used only a half cup of water and called it a day. As for the glaze, I kept it thick, adding only enough lime juice to get it to approximately the consistency of Elmer's glue. I also added a good amount of grated lime zest. It turned out to be a lovely, "graceful" cake, if there is such a thing. Light, fluffy, with a delicate lime taste, spiked with the zestier lime glaze. I'm very pleased with this but if I make it again I may add even more lime juice, zest and extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Ok, I've done something that usually drives me crazy, I substituted ingredients! I used a white cake mix and lime jello, and this turned out really yummy. To be fair, I'm gonna try it again without substituting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States