Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I gave this five stars for ease in preparation, presentation is nice and outstanding lemon/lime flavor. We really enjoyed this cake. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fast and easy. I used vanilla cake mix and vanilla pudding. I added the lime zest as suggested by others. I couldn't find key limes in my area so I used regular. The topping does sort of soak in, so I let some soak in, refridgerated part of it and drizzled a bit more on each cut piece. Tasty and light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This cake is superb! Full of lemony, limey goodness. It is a lemon cake for sure, but you can definitely taste the key lime flavor, especially since I added a bunch of key lime zest. It took about 14 cherry-tomato-sized key limes to get the 8 Tbsp. juice required and yielded about 1 ½ Tbsp. zest. I added 1 Tbsp. zest to the cake batter and ½ Tbsp. zest to the glaze. I cooled the cake for about 30 minutes in the pan before turning out. I split the glaze into two, first pouring on a thinner glaze to soak into the cake, and then pouring on a thicker glaze, more like a frosting. The cake came out wonderful, so moist and flavorful, with a great key lime flavor. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Very good cake. I took a recommendation and used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup key lime juice with great results. Very nicely textured cake. I am going to try with a white cake mix to see how that turns out. I am not crazy about the color with the lemon cake mix - key limes make more of a light yellow color than bright yellow. Just a personal thing - nothing to do with this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Good recipe with the vanilla cake substitution recommended by others. I don't think I would have cared for the lemon cake that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
dude turned out great, the whole family loved it! it was gone in a day. now i have a cake i can make for every event and party. also i used applesauce instead of the vegetable oil, makes it alot moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a moist and yummy cake! Next time I will just use all lemon and lemon juice though. Couldnt really tell it was supposed to be lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this exactly as it is written & if was perfect for our summer barbecue! Very moist & refreshing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My daughters favorite! We always make these for Easter/ Springtime every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States