Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Really really good. Very light.. I did work with what I had though and used lemon juice and vanilla pudding.. even put in extra juice and I think next time I might use some extract too b/c the flavor in the cake was really light. Added vanilla extract to cake and to the icing as well as a couple of tblspns of butter to the icing. Put 1/2 on the cake warm as suggested by others and put the rest on after it cooled but my husband had already cut into it by then and was raving about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
very good great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this into cupcakes and did not make the glaze. The cake was good, but still more of a lemon cake rather than a lime cake. The cupcakes were still very good and incredibly moist. I chose to make a lime cream cheese frosting. I used one of the lemon cream cheese frosting recipes from this site, and just subbed lime in place of the lemon. These were very popular at the get together I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I, too, used white cake mix & vanilla pudding. I added 1 Tbls. of lime zest and increased the lime juice to about 8 Tbls. in the batter. I had handful of macadamia nuts which I toasted and chopped and sprinkled over the icing...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is similar to the one on Duncan Hines website. I made it yesturday with a few changes. I used Real lime juice instead of Key lime, I only had vanilla pudding so I added lemon juice instead of water, and I added a little margarita mix. The website recipe directs you to let cake cool 25 mins, then take it out of the pan and poke small holes in the top and bottom, return to pan and pour glaze over it so it is absorbed. I did follow that but I put a small amount of glaze in the pan before returning it, and made a little extra to put on top once it was completly cool. Turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARaleigh
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wow! What a great blend of tart and sweet! And this recipe is super easy! Thanks for posting, Kaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was a fabulous cake. Due to what I had onhand, I used lemons vs. key limes. This cake was wonderful and very pretty cake slices. I did wait to glaze the cake until it was all the way cool. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious and moist with subtle lime flavor. I used a vanilla cake and pudding mix. As another writer did, I added 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup key lime juice, and zest of one lime. For unexpected flavor in the glaze, I added 2 TBS limoncello liqueur and one TBS key lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Andersen
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made the cake as a bunt, and did not change the recipe at all. The family loved it! My daughter told her preschool class the next day that “My Mom made a awesome butt cake yesterday!”. This does have a strong Key Lime flavor, we love key lime so I did not mind at all. Give it a try you will happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Andersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Kathy Marrott
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've made this numerous times, everybody loves it! Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States