Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I substituted vanilla store bought icing adding the zest and juice of one lime to it. So far everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
After reading all the reviews on this cake, I decided to simply make a lemon cake, so I replaced the key lime juice with lemon juice. This is a very easy recipe and the cake was very good, but it lacked that "WOW" factor that I was hoping for. My kids (ages 11, 12 and 13) said that this cake was "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This cake was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
It was OK, but it was still very dry. I followed the recipe EXACTLY but it turned out dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My guests and I loved this cake! I will agree that its not very strong on the key lime flavor if that's what you were looking for, but its an excellent lemon cake. For the glaze, I used 1 c. sugar and key lime juice to make the glaze the right consistency. I also got tired of squeezing the key limes, so used a little lemon juice for the glaze. I baked these in mini bundt pans for about 25 minutes and drizzled half the glaze while warm and the other half while cool so that it looked pretty! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've had a taste for key lime pie all summer, so thought I would try this recipe. I couldn't find key lime juice so I substituted regular lime juice. I don't know what the difference is, but my family all thought it was a lemon cake. It has a very nice texture, almost like a pound cake and it was very delicious. The glaze definitely helps bring out the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Made this twice. Once for the Miss SD cake auction and the people that bought it, froze it and ate it several months later. Said it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was wonderful! The cake was sweet and moist while the icing is tart. It was simple to make (mine came right out of the pan). This recipe is a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is one of our new summer favorites! I wouldn't call it "lime," but it does have a great citrus flavor. Very light...great when served with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmcormier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This cake is moist and nice and tart. Everyone thinks it is store bought and it is always the first to go at any function. UPDATE: I only use 1 C. powdered sugar and 2 Tbsp. of key lime juice for the glaze, and I let the cake cool completely before putting it on. I have made this cake several times. The picture is of the cake my husband made for me on my b-day. He was very proud of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States