Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This cake was so good that I had to give it 5 stars even though some of the directions left me wondering... It didn't specify how long to mix or how long to cool before removing from the pan.. Since it said pour glaze over warm, I tried removing my cake from my bunt pan and my cake fell apart!.. Next time I'll wait until almost cooled. Very good though, I added a couple drops of green food coloring. I loved it!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great cake! Didn't have any key lime juice so I used all lemon juice. It is awesome. Can't wait to try this with the key lime juice. I cooked it in a 9x13 pan in 35 minutes. Also, I added lemon juice to the confectioner's sugar until I got the consistency right. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
great recipe i took it for thanksgiving and got rave reviews. i did add a little more lime but still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
im trying to make little mini bundt cakes with this recipe using a mini bundt cake pan. I overcooked them slightly at 20 minutes. I also added 7 drops of green food coloring. I may only use 5 next time. I also added a drop to the icing, but it ended up st. patrick's green, haha. I wish I knew how to make the icing stick to the top rather than soak in. I tried thicker icing and letting the cakes cool a bit this time, but it still set in. I'm going to try this a few times more till I get it right. Mini bundt cakes are so cute, especially key lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I couldn't find key limes, so I just used regular ones. Added blueberries over the top after adding the glaze. Everyone raved about this one...it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Should be called a Lemon Cake rather than a Key Lime Cake! Yes, it's moist, and the frosting adds a bit of tartness, but the cake is anything but key lime! Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I substituted vanilla store bought icing adding the zest and juice of one lime to it. So far everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
After reading all the reviews on this cake, I decided to simply make a lemon cake, so I replaced the key lime juice with lemon juice. This is a very easy recipe and the cake was very good, but it lacked that "WOW" factor that I was hoping for. My kids (ages 11, 12 and 13) said that this cake was "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This cake was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
It was OK, but it was still very dry. I followed the recipe EXACTLY but it turned out dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States