Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Not as flavorful as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I wad desperately looking for lime recipes because my neighbor brought me a huge bag of limes. I didn't have cream for a pie, so I'm glad I found this. I'll admit, I modified the recipe a bit due to limited ingredients. I only had yellow cake and vanilla pudding, so I added more fresh lime juice. I used about 1/2 cup. I also added coconut extract to both the cake and the glaze. Omg it was amazing. I would take a picture, but it's already gone! I made a bunt cake out of it, and it was so moist. Thanks so much for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Instead of lemon pudding I use lime pudding for more lime flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is a delicious and easy cake to make. I made a couple of changes. The recipe calls for 3/4 cup of water but I used 2% milk. For the key lime juice, I used Nellie & Joe's. I baked this in a fluted tube pan for 40 minutes. I added 3 Tablespoons of softened butter to the glaze. When the cake was cool, I drizzled the icing over the sides. In the center hole, I poured the remaining icing and then added 1/4 cup of flaked coconut. I toasted 1/2 cup of sliced almonds and sprinkled them over the top of the cake ~ Beautiful presentation of a moist, tropical tasting cake. Thank you, Kaye Frickhoeffer for sharing your recipe. I came home with an empty glass cake stand and cover :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This cake is amazingly good and I didn't even do it right! Noticed that the lemon cake mix in the pantry already had pudding in the mix so I skipped the pudding. The cake did not rise very high. Poked holes in the cake and poured glaze over but the cake was too warm and most of it melted to the bottom of the cake plate. Even after all this the cake was tart and citrus-y, moist and yummy. Today I am a BAKER! BTW I used "Nellie and Joe's Key West Key Lime Juice. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Simple and delicious. My husband loves key lime desserts and this did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
MY FAVORITE CAKE BY FAR!!!!!! I make this all the time now. I LOVE it! Did I mention how much I love it?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made this for a coworker's birthday last night. Since she loves Key lime pie and margaritas I turned it into a margarita cake! I added a little tequila to the icing and a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake batter. I've been getting compliments all afternoon this recipe is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've been making a similar one for MANY years and believe this one may provide more of a key lime flavor. However, the cake uses 1 pkg lemon cake mix, 1 pkg instant lemon pudding, 4 eggs, 1 cup vegetable oil, 3/4 cup water, and 1/4 key lime juice. Mix all and bake in greased/floured bundt for 50-60 minutes. Cool in pan 25 minutes, then invert onto rack and return to pan. Poke holes into cake using skewer. While still warm, pour glaze slowly over cake (making sure some goes down inside center and sides of pan. Cool completely and invert onto serving tray. Sprinkle with additional confectioners sugar right before serving. Glaze is 2 cups confectioner sugar, 1/3 cup key lime juice, 2 tablespoon water, and 2 tablespoons melted butter or margarine. Combine until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Such a delicious citrus cake! I did use white cake mix instead. I also added fresh lime juice. as for the 3/4C. Water i mixed water with fresh lime juice. I also added some fresh lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States