Key Lime Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
The cake tastes delicious, but it didn't fill my 10 inch bundt pan. Also, those intimidated by beating and folding in egg whites may find this one tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
The glaze is wonderfully tangy, but the cake in general didn't rise. It wasn't heavy, but it just didn't rise up at all. Tasty little cake, but I am going to play with it and see if making it more like a traditional cake will get it to come out right. I am also toying with adding a splash of tequila to the glaze, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This cake was tasty and tangy, but I wouldn't serve it to company. For all the work involved, it was really crumbly and it didn't rise higher than 1 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
The taste of this cake is fabulous. However you need to double the recipe to get a nice size cake as it doen't rise much. Everybody that tasted it at my party was impress by it. To avoid making a mistake while following the recipe,it would be better to specify that the sugar, the lime juice and the eggs are divided . Nevertheless I love that unusual cake and it is always a success when I make it. It is also very nice with a lime, butter and ice sugar frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
The flavor of the cake is wonderfully limey, however, the cake doesn't rise and the glaze was extremely sour. In addition, the crumbly texture is unpleasant after it cools and the cake begins to taste stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I made the original cake and it only came out as a sorta ring so I doubled the recipe and it still didnt come out as big as a 10in bundt pan. In my opinion as a baker it was way to tart and no matter how long I baked it, it never would hold up, it always fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Yuck! I followed the recipe exactly, but it was disgusting. It did not rise at all, I turned out a 1" high cake out of my bundt pan!!! Maybe it was my baking powder on that one, but still, the taste was not sweet enough, and it just did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I didn't have any problem with the cake not rising, but I did use a 9" pan after reading the reviews. I think the trick is NOT peeking during the min. baking time. It was a light and deliciously tart cake. The glaze was transparent, so it didn't look glazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This is the worst cake I have ever made. It was dry, too tart, and did not rise. It was 2 inches high in my 10 inch bundt pan and developed a heavy crust even though I could it for a shorter time than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Disgusting!!! My mom swears this is the recipe she used to make my wedding cake. There's no way!!! Like the other posts have said, it didn't rise at all. I noticed right away the batter would be too thick. I tried adding water, but evidently that didn't make a difference. My cake turned out white. But my mom's cake was green. So I think she's made a mistake. Boy, I hope I find the real recipe. It was DELICIOUS!!! If I find it, I'll post it. But don't waste your time on this one...YUCK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States