Key Lime Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I didn't have any problem with the cake not rising, but I did use a 9" pan after reading the reviews. I think the trick is NOT peeking during the min. baking time. It was a light and deliciously tart cake. The glaze was transparent, so it didn't look glazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
The cake tastes delicious, but it didn't fill my 10 inch bundt pan. Also, those intimidated by beating and folding in egg whites may find this one tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
The taste of this cake is fabulous. However you need to double the recipe to get a nice size cake as it doen't rise much. Everybody that tasted it at my party was impress by it. To avoid making a mistake while following the recipe,it would be better to specify that the sugar, the lime juice and the eggs are divided . Nevertheless I love that unusual cake and it is always a success when I make it. It is also very nice with a lime, butter and ice sugar frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I have not made this cake, but just wanted to say "hurray" for a proper recipe! Out of the three key lime cake recipes, this is the ONLY ONE that is actually a recipe. You can't use a prepared box-cake and pretend you made it, no matter how many sprinkles and doo-dads you add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sevenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My husband and I loved the taste! We wouldn't want it very thick, as it is a intense taste. Next time I make it I think I will fold the baking powder in at the same time as the egg whites, maybe it will make it a little lighter. We served warm with a ball of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Good cake... I made it a layer cake with lemon curd in between and 3 minute frosting... didn't have problems with the rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
The glaze is wonderfully tangy, but the cake in general didn't rise. It wasn't heavy, but it just didn't rise up at all. Tasty little cake, but I am going to play with it and see if making it more like a traditional cake will get it to come out right. I am also toying with adding a splash of tequila to the glaze, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This cake was tasty and tangy, but I wouldn't serve it to company. For all the work involved, it was really crumbly and it didn't rise higher than 1 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
The flavor of the cake is wonderfully limey, however, the cake doesn't rise and the glaze was extremely sour. In addition, the crumbly texture is unpleasant after it cools and the cake begins to taste stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
As others have noted in their reviews, this is a strange consistency for a cake, almost pound-like, but crumbly. I took suggestions and added water to the mix, about 1/4 cup, but that didn't help much. The cake did rise a bit, but stuck to my 9" pan even with lots of Crisco. I like the tartness of it, but the cake is too heavy to be a summer treat. And the glaze never did thicken, even after 8 minutes of stirring over med. heat. Doubt I'll try this recipe again, as it is a lot of work for a so-so cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States