Key Largo Key Lime Pound Cake with Key Lime Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
No stars...I should have read what several others had written. I think someone left out the salt needed to make it bake & rise better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
While I liked the flavors of this carke, it turned out kind of dry and very dense. Not a big hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This cake was a lot of work, a lot of mess, not very pretty, and only ok. It didn't taste bad by any means, but it was just too much to consider making it again for something that was only ok. Also, it became abundantly clear while batter was dripping out and burning in the oven, that a loaf pan is not a suitable alternative for a tube pan =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Hey girls, if you give this recipe another chance ,,it works. First,, dont poke any holes in it, instead of useing key lime juice, I used 2 limes,I also added lime zest in place of key lime juice. Key lime juice is very, very tart, So it becomes easy to over do. I think 1/2 c. key lime juice too much. Try ,juice from 2 limes ,plus the zest, then, juice from 2 limes plus the zest in the iceing,That is what will make you want to make this again Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This recipe sounded delicious. There was just one review when I printed it out, 5 stars. Baked it and was disgusted (sorry, "disappointed" doesn't convey my feelings) with the results. The "glaze" saturated the cake, making it appear undercooked and unappealing. I was too mortified to serve it to my guests. Unfortunately the flavor was not good either, so into the garbage it went. I was incredulous of the one 5 star review I had seen, and I went back to see if any other reviews had been added, perhaps helpful hints to improve it. That's when I saw that others have had this problem. With the price of ingredients this was an expensive disaster, not to mention a total waste of time and electricity to bake. If anyone is daring enough to try this recipe, at least make a true and proper glaze using confectioners sugar that won't saturate the cake. Sorry about the bad review, but it's an honest one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I love Key Lime anythig. I made this a few nights nights ago and it was delightful. I followed the exact recipe no alterations. However I am not sure if I did the "glazing" right. It soaked into the cake not leaving a glaze at all. I did find that adding a dollop of cool whip when serving adds to presentation and enhances flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
What a wonderful pound cake! I was looking for something different and decided to try this. I actually doubled up the glaze and poked alot of holes in the cake. Everyone who was fortunate to have a slice absolutely loved it. It has become my new "favourite" as well as my family's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
The ingredients were not the usual pound cake quantity...the cake was doughy and very heavy. I actually tried this twice thinking it was something I did wrong. Maybe increasing the sugar and decreasing the amount of shortening vs butter could be the solution. I also ran out of key lime juice and used orange juice. Shouldn't think that would matter either. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I was not impressed with this at all.. Followed the recipe completely.. It is too heavy to be called a pound cake, and the glaze soaks in and turns to a gummy center, giving the impression that the cake is not baked completely.. Not really much flavor.. All in all, I wouldn't recommend it or try it again.. Sorry guys..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States