Key Largo Key Lime Pound Cake with Key Lime Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I agree that 2 cups of butter/shortening is too much--reduce to 1.5 (and even a teaspoon of shortening is just gross--I only used butter). I don't know why there's butter in the glaze. I just boiled and cooled sugar and lime juice (and doubled the measurements) and it was just fine. I also added lime (not key lime) zest to the cake batter, which I probably won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Followed the adjustments provided by naples 34102 and they were on point! My frosting didn't turn out as well but that's an easy fix even if I have to add just a pinch of powder sugar to the glaze. My family devoured this cake! Thanks naples 34102
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I MADE THIS CAKE LAST NIGHT TO GIVE TO SOMEON AS A BIRTHDAY GIFT. I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS AND WHEN IT WAS DONE IT LOO AS IT WAS NOT BAKE I SPENT A LOT OF TIME AND MONEY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Not a very good cake, very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Yes, this recipe definitely has problems as evidenced by the fact that, a) it’s been ignored, b) only 16 people have reviewed it and c) it has a low rating. I’ve been eyeing it for some time, thinking that one day I wanted to “have at it.” Today was that day. I think what happens is that just like with top chefs, in the interest of being creative we stray from the tried and true chemistry of a recipe to come up with something different that we can call our own. That may be what happened here. I fiddled with this recipe big time, but now it works and can be prepared with confidence in my view, as opposed to its continuing to be neglected. So… 2 c. of fat is too much…reduce the shortening to 1/2 cup. Two cups of sugar is not enough – up it to 3 cups. Add 1/4 tsp. salt to heighten flavor. Increase the milk to 1 c. and decrease the lime juice to 1/4 cup. Add 1 T. of grated lime zest and, if you can get your hands on it, 1 tsp. of pure lime extract. (I buy mine online) The ingredients for the glaze are just fine…BUT…it has to be heated to a boil, boiled for about 2 min., then brushed onto the warm cake. I didn’t bother to poke holes in the cake – it absorbed the buttery, sweet lime glaze like a sponge. The bottom line? This cake is incredibly delicious. Moist, buttery, beautiful and boldly lime. Don’t pass this by! I’m rating this 4 stars (but it’s really 5!) just so that it isn’t overlooked, even tho’ as written I’d most likely rate it a 1 or 2 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I was really really hesitant about trying this recipe based on some of the reviews, but decided to give it a chance, and decide for myself. I honestly don't know what all the bad reviews were about. If you enjoy key limes, you will find this cake delicious. I did not use the glaze. I also chose to bake it in the stainless steel bowl that comes with the kitchenaid mixer, and increased the bake time by about a half an hour or so. The cake was very moist since it was baked in a deep bowl, and I just cut a slight bit off the top layer because it was a bit too brown for my taste. I then and inverted the cake onto a plate, frosted it, and decorated it. I ended up with a very cool ball shaped cake. It was delicious. Again, I did not use the glaze, so maybe with the glaze it would be too strong of a taste. but for me it's a keeper. Thanks for sharing. I encourage others to take the recipe, experiment with it, and with a few minor adjustments, you can really be creative with it. For someone with no cooking experience, you may not have the ability to modify the instructions to make it work PERFECTLY, so for that reason I rated it a four. For taste however, I give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This in my opinion is far from pound cake. I bake and cook alot and thought I would try this one. This is not a tasty cake whatsoever..Lesson learned, stick to tried and true pound cake recipies passed down from family and flavor them as desired..The texture is crumbly and honestly lacks flavor. I think the shortening kills it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe needed obvious (and not so obvious) changes. Don’t use a stand mixer to blend batter; crumb will become too dense—a reaction of the long-chain gluten (protein) strands in the flour being over mixed. Replace all shortening with approximate quantity of butter. Not sure exactly how much I ended up using, but two cups—4 sticks—way too much. Add ‘til consistency is cake-like, and batter tastes good. (A batter that tastes good bakes into a cake that tastes good!). Whip the egg whites firm and fold into batter. Don’t add the glaze until after the cake has cooled completely: Hot cakes are especially porous & glaze will sink in. Also, just mix the sugar and lime juice (no butter) together, then heat without stirring until it begins to bubble around the edges and can glaze the back of a spoon. Prompted by other reviewer comments, I decided to use my simple confectioner’s icing instead of glaze. Just one cup confectioner’s sugar mixed into 1 TBS lime juice. Fork drip it over the cooled cake in a lattice pattern. For the time-constrained among us, there’s an easy solution to this recipe. Simply replace part of the water when preparing a yellow cake mix (I like Duncan Hines) with approx. ¼ cup concentrated frozen limeade, and a few drops of lime extract. Add more or less of both, depending on the amount of lime flavor desired (remember- taste the batter!). Let cool and add your sugar/lime juice glaze to the top. Makes an awesomely good, quick, and inexpensive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This cake has a wonderful flavor, but the time it took me to squeeze the limes, will make me think, before I fix it, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was one of the most decadent, delicious, rich, fantabulous-tasting desserts I have ever made... but it was very unattractive to look at. I made it for the birthday party of a dear friend, so it was presented to understandingly forgiving company. The texture was dense & sticky, and it came out of the pan unwillingly, leaving a crumbly, woebegon-looking crust. But when everybody tasted it, they did not care what it looked like. My mouth is watering just thinking about this cake. I've made it twice, both times it was pitiful looking. And both times it was so delicious you could hear the angels sing. Make it for the people you love, who will forgive it for being homely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States