Key Largo Key Lime Pound Cake with Key Lime Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Made this Key Lime Pound Cake yesterday and was a little leary about the temperature and cooking time but to my surprise....This was absolutely a wonderful change to the regular pound cake...If you like lime and want a velvety dense moist pound cake...This is it!! I do a lot of baking and this will be in my "unique favorites" for a citrus pound cake...Thanks again...Great recipe..Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Hey girls, if you give this recipe another chance ,,it works. First,, dont poke any holes in it, instead of useing key lime juice, I used 2 limes,I also added lime zest in place of key lime juice. Key lime juice is very, very tart, So it becomes easy to over do. I think 1/2 c. key lime juice too much. Try ,juice from 2 limes ,plus the zest, then, juice from 2 limes plus the zest in the iceing,That is what will make you want to make this again Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This recipe sounded delicious. There was just one review when I printed it out, 5 stars. Baked it and was disgusted (sorry, "disappointed" doesn't convey my feelings) with the results. The "glaze" saturated the cake, making it appear undercooked and unappealing. I was too mortified to serve it to my guests. Unfortunately the flavor was not good either, so into the garbage it went. I was incredulous of the one 5 star review I had seen, and I went back to see if any other reviews had been added, perhaps helpful hints to improve it. That's when I saw that others have had this problem. With the price of ingredients this was an expensive disaster, not to mention a total waste of time and electricity to bake. If anyone is daring enough to try this recipe, at least make a true and proper glaze using confectioners sugar that won't saturate the cake. Sorry about the bad review, but it's an honest one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Yes, this recipe definitely has problems as evidenced by the fact that, a) it’s been ignored, b) only 16 people have reviewed it and c) it has a low rating. I’ve been eyeing it for some time, thinking that one day I wanted to “have at it.” Today was that day. I think what happens is that just like with top chefs, in the interest of being creative we stray from the tried and true chemistry of a recipe to come up with something different that we can call our own. That may be what happened here. I fiddled with this recipe big time, but now it works and can be prepared with confidence in my view, as opposed to its continuing to be neglected. So… 2 c. of fat is too much…reduce the shortening to 1/2 cup. Two cups of sugar is not enough – up it to 3 cups. Add 1/4 tsp. salt to heighten flavor. Increase the milk to 1 c. and decrease the lime juice to 1/4 cup. Add 1 T. of grated lime zest and, if you can get your hands on it, 1 tsp. of pure lime extract. (I buy mine online) The ingredients for the glaze are just fine…BUT…it has to be heated to a boil, boiled for about 2 min., then brushed onto the warm cake. I didn’t bother to poke holes in the cake – it absorbed the buttery, sweet lime glaze like a sponge. The bottom line? This cake is incredibly delicious. Moist, buttery, beautiful and boldly lime. Don’t pass this by! I’m rating this 4 stars (but it’s really 5!) just so that it isn’t overlooked, even tho’ as written I’d most likely rate it a 1 or 2 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe needed obvious (and not so obvious) changes. Don’t use a stand mixer to blend batter; crumb will become too dense—a reaction of the long-chain gluten (protein) strands in the flour being over mixed. Replace all shortening with approximate quantity of butter. Not sure exactly how much I ended up using, but two cups—4 sticks—way too much. Add ‘til consistency is cake-like, and batter tastes good. (A batter that tastes good bakes into a cake that tastes good!). Whip the egg whites firm and fold into batter. Don’t add the glaze until after the cake has cooled completely: Hot cakes are especially porous & glaze will sink in. Also, just mix the sugar and lime juice (no butter) together, then heat without stirring until it begins to bubble around the edges and can glaze the back of a spoon. Prompted by other reviewer comments, I decided to use my simple confectioner’s icing instead of glaze. Just one cup confectioner’s sugar mixed into 1 TBS lime juice. Fork drip it over the cooled cake in a lattice pattern. For the time-constrained among us, there’s an easy solution to this recipe. Simply replace part of the water when preparing a yellow cake mix (I like Duncan Hines) with approx. ¼ cup concentrated frozen limeade, and a few drops of lime extract. Add more or less of both, depending on the amount of lime flavor desired (remember- taste the batter!). Let cool and add your sugar/lime juice glaze to the top. Makes an awesomely good, quick, and inexpensive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was one of the most decadent, delicious, rich, fantabulous-tasting desserts I have ever made... but it was very unattractive to look at. I made it for the birthday party of a dear friend, so it was presented to understandingly forgiving company. The texture was dense & sticky, and it came out of the pan unwillingly, leaving a crumbly, woebegon-looking crust. But when everybody tasted it, they did not care what it looked like. My mouth is watering just thinking about this cake. I've made it twice, both times it was pitiful looking. And both times it was so delicious you could hear the angels sing. Make it for the people you love, who will forgive it for being homely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I love Key Lime anythig. I made this a few nights nights ago and it was delightful. I followed the exact recipe no alterations. However I am not sure if I did the "glazing" right. It soaked into the cake not leaving a glaze at all. I did find that adding a dollop of cool whip when serving adds to presentation and enhances flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
What a wonderful pound cake! I was looking for something different and decided to try this. I actually doubled up the glaze and poked alot of holes in the cake. Everyone who was fortunate to have a slice absolutely loved it. It has become my new "favourite" as well as my family's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I was not impressed with this at all.. Followed the recipe completely.. It is too heavy to be called a pound cake, and the glaze soaks in and turns to a gummy center, giving the impression that the cake is not baked completely.. Not really much flavor.. All in all, I wouldn't recommend it or try it again.. Sorry guys..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This cake has a wonderful flavor, but the time it took me to squeeze the limes, will make me think, before I fix it, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States