Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
I noticed a user said this was a failure. I tried it in a regular pot without success. BUT .. if you use a stir crazy electric popcorn popper (one with a stirrer) and also used a stovetop whirley pop popcorn pan (the type with a handle & a hand crank to keep the popcorn moving). Our friends and family LOVE this stuff & CAN't get enough! I added more sugar for the stovetop method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Heat the oil hot enough to pop the corn - add the sugar and stir. Add the corn and let pop. Remove immediately from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Talk about easy and good. My whole family likes it and we don't have to wait for the fair anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I noticed one other reviewer said this didn't work. It worked great for us, but I think there must be 2 keys: use MEDIUM heat as the recipe states (most people tend to make popcorn on the highest heat)and really keep it moving in the bottom of the pan. We have one of those poppers that has a crank and it works great with this, but probably would be fine with a regular pot if you keep shaking. Really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I made this on an electric stove and it turned out great the first time and then the second batch burned on the bottom. I then tried again the next day and realized that if I heat up the oil on medium heat, add the corn and then put the sugar over the corn. It works great. You have to shake the pot real well though. Not from side to side, like with Jiffy Pop, but kind of pop it up every 15 seconds or so... I put a dishcloth on the lid and held it with handles to keep the lid on while I "popped" it. Also, you have to take it out of the pot AS SOON as the kernels slow down or it will burn. If your family likes the taste, it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This recipe was SO easy and SO quick. I loved it. I would have thought that making good kettle corn would be painstakingly hard, but it wasn't and it was a good (if not better) than storebought! Thank you Sue (the recipe submitter), and www.AllRecipies.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I'm so glad I found this recipe. Now I don't have to wait to go to festivals to get kettle corn. I read the other reviews first and kept the heat down on medium,and shook the pan constantly. I also added a 1/4 cup more corn than called for since it seemed like a bit too much oil. It turned out perfect! We'll have this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I bought a stir crazy popcorn popper for making this kettle corn. I put in the oil and then the sugar until the sugar begins to melt. Then I add the popcorn and the machine does the work and I end up with the highly addictive kettle corn! It is fabulous and the only way to eat it is fresh. It disappears within minutes at my house. Much thanks to Sue for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I tried this reicpe twice without success using a regular pan. The result was a hardend, burned lump on the bottom of my pot. Then I decided to try a non-stick pot and it worked wonderfully. I definately would try using a non-stick pan before you give up! I took the advice to test the oil with a single kernel of corn and that works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNITTINQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
My family thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I kept the heat at medium and used a non-stick pan and it came out TERRIFIC! The hardest part of the recipe is the waiting! I ate a piece while it was still hot, and really have to say that the flavor got better as it cooled. I would definitely make this recipe again - no more waiting for the fair or paying outrageous prices from the vendors! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States