Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was super easy and very tasty. I cut the oil in half and used just under 1/4 cup of soft brown sugar and a big pinch of salt. I will be making this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
this is a great recipe! I use my stir crazy popper. I do the oil and 3 kernals. When the three pop, I add the rest of the corn, a scant 1/4 C sugar, and salt to taste. (I think i use about 1/2 t). Watch very closely, as it scorches easily. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Yummy!I'm eating it right now! Add some salt before or after you pop it, and it'll top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
good recipe...think adding the salt, as one other person mentioned, might be something i'll try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I really love this recipe now that I got it right. The first time I made it I used half white sugar and half raw sugar thinking that it would be a nice balance between caramel and sweet. It tasted alright but it was tricky to make because the raw sugar does not dissolve nicely like the white sugar. Not only that but I got a bit lazy with the 3 second shake rule and I almost burnt it... a few times. Let me tell you, the other reviewers are not kidding it burns very easily. The next time and ever since I have used just white sugar and have been absolutely dedicated to the 3 second rule and it has been wonderful every time! I would definitely recommend this recipe, but just make sure you stick to the 3 second shake rule and shake it like the dickens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Took a few tries, but now I've got the hang of it! Stir the pot with a wooden spoon when you first add the sugar to make sure everything coats nicely, and then don't stop shaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
The 1st try didn't succeed. I thought to make it have buttery flavor, I used about 3 tbsp of butter instead of oil and add the sugars and salt to the melting butter and pop in 3 kernels. The kernels didn't pop at all, I was tired shaking it so as not to brown the sugar. But, since it took so long, it was brown anyway. Maybe the butter can't get as hot as the oil? 2nd try I followed the directions, as others said, add the sugars and salt to the hot oil and pop in 3 kernels. 2 kernels popped, so I added in all the other kernels. They wouldn't pop either. I didn't time it but it took a long time too and I was shaking it the entire time. The sugar turned dark brown, but I didn't want to give up. I thought maybe i didn't use the regular popcorn packages, but buy by the pound or that it didn't stay long enough on the burner. So I left it longer on the burner and they did pop, but it tasted bitter. I was determine to eat the popcorn; I had 1/4 cup of kernels left (1/2 the recipe), so I tried again. This time heating 1Tbsp of oil, then put in all the kernels. Waited for some to pop, then add in mixture of white and brown sugar. Keep stirring til all the sugar melted, then closed the lid and 3-sec on and off the burner (shaking). It took about 8 minutes from the time I put in the kernels to popping. After it was done, I sprinkled some salt on it. Finally, it was a success! Tastes great. My advice to you who tried and failed, try my last method and you should succeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Are you kidding me? I tried this recipe multiple times after reading all the helpful comments and making sure the oil was ready with the three kernel test. All I got was charred popcorn and a huge mess each time I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I used coconut oil, brown sugar, and 1/4 t salt, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Two words... Simply rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 997) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States