Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Easy and super fancy pants. I make little paper cones and served these at a catering gig. Got a pimptastic tip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Came on allrecipes' website to find a recipe for caramel corn and came across this recipe. Made this twice. Easy and tasty. The first time, it was good but the second time I tried the method of putting the sugar in the oil before putting in the popcorn, it turned out that the sugar did not dissolve and sugar turned into rock-hard clumps. Had to restart, but it was good and am making it again! For me, the best way to start is to heat the oil, like the recipe stated, and the add the popcorn once the oil was hot, then right after adding the popcorn add the sugar. Also added in a 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the sugar. It does seem to want to stick, when you're moving the pot for a while, but, I would lift the lid just enough to get a spoon in there to stir it around so the sugar wouldn't burn. If it seems like the popcorn is popping pretty fast, you could even lower the heat somewhat so the sugar doesn't start to burn. I've seen where other reviewers said that they use a non-stick stock pot, but we don't have one of those. We use our stainless steel stock pot, and if you turn down the heat once it starts really popping, that helps it not to burn. That's what I did the second time and we didn't have any burnt pieces. What we did was to stir the popcorn once most of it was popped, while it was still in the pot, to help coat the pieces with the mixture. We will definitely keep this recipe! Thanks for posting, Sue202.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent! We used unrefined coconut oil and it made a sweet, coconut and caramel flavored glaze. A pinch of salt made this popcorn so extraordinary my girlfriend blurted out between bites: "This is the best thing I have ever eaten! Period."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
So so so yummy! I've made this 3 times now and every time it is wonderful! I too alternate shaking and letting it rest on the burner for a moment. This last time, I tried coconut oil (healthier than vegetable or canola) and it added just a hint of sweet coconut flavor that really worked. I also used half white sugar and half brown. Mmmm... the batch went quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The kids and I used to frequent the NC State Fair every fall, but after my husband's job moved us to southern Texas we had to find ways to incorporate old traditions in new places. This recipe brought back the crisp mornings and sweet smells of fall leaves even in 90 degree weather where the leaves won't turn till after the new year. Excellent recipe, so glad we found it and can add it to the ever growing list of "reminds us of back home" things. We used the 3 seconds on, 3 seconds off trick and the very first batch came out perfectly. Now all we need is a great candy apple recipe and some hot apple cider :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebby713
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I'll start out by admitting I've never really liked kettle corn. And then I tried this recipe. OMG, this was so amazing! I followed the 3 kernel test and used white sugar. I can't believe how crispy and yummy this was. I'm excited to try brown sugar next time for more of a caramel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I cannot stop making (and eating) this popcorn! I think the recipe calls for a touch too much white sugar, but for a caramel corn you will need nearly double the amount of brown sugar. I also used the cooking method to make plain popcorn for my husband to doctor up with melted butter and garlic salt. I'm so happy to have found this recipe - customizable, homemade popcorn makes movie night so much more fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
After following the suggestions of the tried and tested 3 kernel pop method it was perfect with a dusting of salt. Tonight I made it again but with coconut oil and WOW.... End of story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I make this in a Whirly Pop and have never had a bad experience. It does need to be stirred during the popping. Love this stuff, have to pace myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I have had my hits and misses with this. I have scorched it, lightly overdone it and cooked it to perfection. I don't like it with all white sugar and prefer 1/2 evaporated cane sugar (Rapadura) and 1/2 organic sugar. I have also tried it with canola, corn, grape seed, vegetable and coconut oils. Hands down by far, the best (tasting and cooked) was prepared using the coconut oil...who knew? Now I do...amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States