Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
The 1st try didn't succeed. I thought to make it have buttery flavor, I used about 3 tbsp of butter instead of oil and add the sugars and salt to the melting butter and pop in 3 kernels. The kernels didn't pop at all, I was tired shaking it so as not to brown the sugar. But, since it took so long, it was brown anyway. Maybe the butter can't get as hot as the oil? 2nd try I followed the directions, as others said, add the sugars and salt to the hot oil and pop in 3 kernels. 2 kernels popped, so I added in all the other kernels. They wouldn't pop either. I didn't time it but it took a long time too and I was shaking it the entire time. The sugar turned dark brown, but I didn't want to give up. I thought maybe i didn't use the regular popcorn packages, but buy by the pound or that it didn't stay long enough on the burner. So I left it longer on the burner and they did pop, but it tasted bitter. I was determine to eat the popcorn; I had 1/4 cup of kernels left (1/2 the recipe), so I tried again. This time heating 1Tbsp of oil, then put in all the kernels. Waited for some to pop, then add in mixture of white and brown sugar. Keep stirring til all the sugar melted, then closed the lid and 3-sec on and off the burner (shaking). It took about 8 minutes from the time I put in the kernels to popping. After it was done, I sprinkled some salt on it. Finally, it was a success! Tastes great. My advice to you who tried and failed, try my last method and you should succeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Are you kidding me? I tried this recipe multiple times after reading all the helpful comments and making sure the oil was ready with the three kernel test. All I got was charred popcorn and a huge mess each time I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I used coconut oil, brown sugar, and 1/4 t salt, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Two words... Simply rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
We have made this several times now and it always comes out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am not a fan of popcorn...but kettle corn is a different thing. This was so easy and perfect the first time I made it. My daughter buys kettle corn every week and pays $6 a bag(which makes her quite reluctant to share). When she tries this, I will quickly become her favorite person in the world. Method: 3 kernel pop test in 1/2 reg, 1/2 butter flavored oil, added popcorn, then sugar, shake 3 secs., rest 3 secs. Poured in a large bowl and lightly salted it. Yummers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very nice recipe. On an electric stove, this requires a careful eye and patience. Do NOT walk away, even for a second. Shake constantly, and remove from heat the INSTANT you hear popping slow down. Pour into an awaiting bowl immediately after removing from heat to prevent after burning (but be careful). You really have to add salt to taste. The sweet and salt is the best part about kettle corn. My kids absolutely devoured this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne OBrien-Kakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
this was excellent, and very easy. I made a few changes and used sugar in the raw, canola oil and salted with sea salt. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Tried it with brown sugar. Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Tried doing this with the sugar added in with the oil first to melt. The popcorn was good but was more caramel in color. Tried it the second time just as stated with 1/2 teaspoon salt thrown in. Turned out perfect!!! The 3 second on/off heat was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States