Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I remember homemade ketchup from my childhood and YUCK. Being all grown up now, I decided to try this recipe and it is wonderful. I replaced the fennel with fennel seed, the star anise with anise extract and the cloves with allspice. Original recipe says it makes 16 servings - so figure ea serving is approx 1 T. I tripled it without a problem. I also put everything in my crockpot on high until it was heated through. then on low WITHOUT a lid - cooked it overnight then put everything through a sieve in the morning and back into the crock pot on low until I had the desired thickness I wanted. I plan on making it again over the winter with the tomato juice I canned this summer. Ummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePittyRanch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Absolutely by far the best ketchup recipe ever! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Delicious! I didn't think the anise flavor was overwhelming at all, but then again I like licorice. I served this at a dinner party and got mixed opinions. I thought it was a touch too sweet but others disagreed. Some thought it could do without the star anise. I will probably omit it in the future just because I don't usually have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I really like this ketchup and so does my 2.5 year old. I use half the amount of tomatoes and replace with cauliflower. Turned out great, no one knew they were eating cauliflower until I told them. Definitely a unique flavor, not like the bottled stuff you get at the store. We will use this as a go to ketchup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
My kids love to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I'm giving it 5 for flavor. I loved the spicy, garlic, licorice flavor. It's a great substitute for Heinz. My only question is if anyone's try had the consistency of cocktail sauce. I wasn't too sure on the reducing and the puree procedures. I would recommend adding a little more detail please. It's rather vague and kept me guessing. By sheer dint of will I refused to give up. Thanks. I've got a new and fun recipe for future dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Fresh ketchup is quite different from the store-bought stuff, but so nice! We used fresh tomatoes from the garden, so this was awesome! It doesn't make much for the effort, so I'll double or even triple the recipe next time... we used it to make the Blackberry BBQ Sauce... very nice! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Now I will comment after the fact. This ketchup turned out to be very tasty. I used a little green pepper in my first batch, fennel seed rather than the bulb, and a lot more tomatoes than the recipe called for. In previous attempts to make ketchup, I have used some cinammon and allspice. ( I may go drop a few balls of the latter into the pot that is simmering on the stove right now.) Wouldn't hurt to add some fresh ginger if you had a bit on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
i've made this ketchup three times already and anyone who tries it, loves it! instead of the fennel bulb, i use ground fennel and replace the salt with sea salt. i've never strained it because the consistency has always been fine. every homemade ketchup i've tried has been a bit thick so i don't mind it. and remember to dump out your crappy store bought ketchup and use the empty bottle for your awesome home-brewed one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made a few changes to this like most folks. I used 6 quarts of tomatoes from my garden, and used what I had on hand in rough proportion to the greater amount of tomatoes. Clove oil (6 drops-used in Christmas hard candy) and 1 1/2 caps anise extract for the fennel, star anise and cloves. 2 heaping Tbl minced garlic. Balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar. Brown sugar for white. It was way too sweet at first, but I left the sugar out of the 2nd batch and mixed them together. Simmered for about 6 hours and it is STUPENDOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States