Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
i've made this ketchup three times already and anyone who tries it, loves it! instead of the fennel bulb, i use ground fennel and replace the salt with sea salt. i've never strained it because the consistency has always been fine. every homemade ketchup i've tried has been a bit thick so i don't mind it. and remember to dump out your crappy store bought ketchup and use the empty bottle for your awesome home-brewed one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This turned out better than I expected. The flavor is a little strange... but in a good way, if that makes any sense! I personally don't think it is anything like regular ketchup; I thought it was almost like a spicy savory apple sauce. Anyway, I removed the cloves and star anise before blending it, and I had to push it through the sieve because it was so thick. (PS If, like me, you don't want to buy large and expensive amounts of spices you don't use very often, check out your Indian grocer - I buy a 1.5oz bag of Mixed Spices, including cinnamon sticks, cardamon, cloves, star anise and peppercorns, for $1.59. Bargain!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Now I will comment after the fact. This ketchup turned out to be very tasty. I used a little green pepper in my first batch, fennel seed rather than the bulb, and a lot more tomatoes than the recipe called for. In previous attempts to make ketchup, I have used some cinammon and allspice. ( I may go drop a few balls of the latter into the pot that is simmering on the stove right now.) Wouldn't hurt to add some fresh ginger if you had a bit on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I remember homemade ketchup from my childhood and YUCK. Being all grown up now, I decided to try this recipe and it is wonderful. I replaced the fennel with fennel seed, the star anise with anise extract and the cloves with allspice. Original recipe says it makes 16 servings - so figure ea serving is approx 1 T. I tripled it without a problem. I also put everything in my crockpot on high until it was heated through. then on low WITHOUT a lid - cooked it overnight then put everything through a sieve in the morning and back into the crock pot on low until I had the desired thickness I wanted. I plan on making it again over the winter with the tomato juice I canned this summer. Ummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePittyRanch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time, I couldn't get star anise in my local store and so substituted a couple of drops of licorice extract. The result was a great tasting ketchup with a full-bodied country ketchup flavour--better than the commercially bottled stuff. The second time I made it, I actually had the requires star anise and made the recipe extactly as indicated. The result was that the anise flavour was not subtle enough. If you like that flavour in ketchup, then it's a very tasty sauce. Personally, I prefer my first version without the star anise, but with a few drops of the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
No, sir...I didn't like it. Way too much fennel/anise flavor; aside from that, it was just kind of like tomato paste. I didn't have fennel pods, so I used a teaspoon of fennel seeds instead - maybe that was the problem. Still, the texture and the overall spirit of the thing just aren't what I wanted. Next time, I'll use a more traditional ketchup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
It's not Heinz but if you want to try to make your own ketchup this is the recipe to try. It's very easy to make and it has a great taste. I just wish it was as smooth as the commercial ketchup (it has an applesauce texture to it). Maybe putting it through some cheese cloth might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I'm giving it 5 for flavor. I loved the spicy, garlic, licorice flavor. It's a great substitute for Heinz. My only question is if anyone's try had the consistency of cocktail sauce. I wasn't too sure on the reducing and the puree procedures. I would recommend adding a little more detail please. It's rather vague and kept me guessing. By sheer dint of will I refused to give up. Thanks. I've got a new and fun recipe for future dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
My mom once made a wonderful homemade ketchup when I was a kid, so I guess I was trying to find a similar recipe. Unfortunately, this wasn't it. Although a tasty departure from bottled ketchup, the anise flavor is a bit strong for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Fresh ketchup is quite different from the store-bought stuff, but so nice! We used fresh tomatoes from the garden, so this was awesome! It doesn't make much for the effort, so I'll double or even triple the recipe next time... we used it to make the Blackberry BBQ Sauce... very nice! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States