Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by transconjohn
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I jumped into the fray with this recipe and I absolutely love it... I must say I used it as a guideline and took several liberties. I read all the reviews and took a lot of substitution advice. Fennel seed instead of fennel bulb. I added ginger. I used anise & clove extract since I had them on hand and wanted to save the money. I crock potted the entire thing, then reduced it on the stove and then used the Magic Bullet to turn it into a paste. I didn't strain the results as I kinda like the thicker consistency. All in all the flavor is amazing! It floors me how easy some of my favorite items are to make at home, IF you have the time...and I seem to drag everything out. But I enjoy the kitchen and the process. Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transconjohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Very good, I added some more spices (allspice, garam masala). Great recipe, I'll make some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
i tried this and loved it, rave reviews from family and friends too. i have a ninja blender and saw no need at all to strain the product. i would like to know if it can be water bath canned for long term keeping? or how long it will stay fresh in the fridge. highly recommended though. and i loved the fennel added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Delicious! I didn't think the anise flavor was overwhelming at all, but then again I like licorice. I served this at a dinner party and got mixed opinions. I thought it was a touch too sweet but others disagreed. Some thought it could do without the star anise. I will probably omit it in the future just because I don't usually have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I really like this ketchup and so does my 2.5 year old. I use half the amount of tomatoes and replace with cauliflower. Turned out great, no one knew they were eating cauliflower until I told them. Definitely a unique flavor, not like the bottled stuff you get at the store. We will use this as a go to ketchup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made a few changes to this like most folks. I used 6 quarts of tomatoes from my garden, and used what I had on hand in rough proportion to the greater amount of tomatoes. Clove oil (6 drops-used in Christmas hard candy) and 1 1/2 caps anise extract for the fennel, star anise and cloves. 2 heaping Tbl minced garlic. Balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar. Brown sugar for white. It was way too sweet at first, but I left the sugar out of the 2nd batch and mixed them together. Simmered for about 6 hours and it is STUPENDOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Absolutely by far the best ketchup recipe ever! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I remember homemade ketchup from my childhood and YUCK. Being all grown up now, I decided to try this recipe and it is wonderful. I replaced the fennel with fennel seed, the star anise with anise extract and the cloves with allspice. Original recipe says it makes 16 servings - so figure ea serving is approx 1 T. I tripled it without a problem. I also put everything in my crockpot on high until it was heated through. then on low WITHOUT a lid - cooked it overnight then put everything through a sieve in the morning and back into the crock pot on low until I had the desired thickness I wanted. I plan on making it again over the winter with the tomato juice I canned this summer. Ummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePittyRanch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time, I couldn't get star anise in my local store and so substituted a couple of drops of licorice extract. The result was a great tasting ketchup with a full-bodied country ketchup flavour--better than the commercially bottled stuff. The second time I made it, I actually had the requires star anise and made the recipe extactly as indicated. The result was that the anise flavour was not subtle enough. If you like that flavour in ketchup, then it's a very tasty sauce. Personally, I prefer my first version without the star anise, but with a few drops of the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is awesome!! I make Pho (Vietnamese noodle soup. I use star anise for that dish as well. My wife doesn't care too much for ketchup. She loves this. I am going to try and tripple the batch so that I can do some canning. I had fresh basil leaves from my garden. That added a twist. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States