Ke's Cajun (Dirty) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Outstanding "base" for a quick and tasty Cajun rice recipe. I also beefed up the seasonings. I added a touch more Cajun seasoning, instead of bell pepper I used just ain white onions, I added corn on the cob, and instead of turkey, I used sliced up sausage. I also added beef bouillion cubes to the rice to give it more dept in flavor. This is now a staple dish in out family. Props to whoever wrote this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
WOW! what a simple, tasty, filling dish! Like some of the other reviews, I added tomatoes, kidney beans, and Cajun seasoning. I don't typically measure ingredients for dishes like this. I'm doing Dr Oz's Two Week Rapid Weight Loss Diet and it calls for 6oz of lean meat (ground turkey breast) and 1/2 cup brown rice and unlimited amounts of certain selected low GI veggies...so this dish was perfect! And it was very filling. Added a side of steamed broccoli for a full meal! Thanks for sharing. I think I'll make it again a couple of times while on my 2week Dr Oz journey! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I hate leaving a low rating, but at the same time I'm getting tired of seeing these high star ratings, then spending my time and money to prepare the dish, and having it be so bad my family wont even eat it. While everyones palate does vary, this dish is very bland. I doubled the cajun seasoning, but it was still bland. In stead of adding plain water, I added chicken broth - and that seamed to help. Then I served it with sour cream. But my family was disappointed (as was I) and asked me not to make the dish again. NOTE: I had a hard time masking the "turkey taste" with these seasonings. Maybe use ground chicken instead. And possibly add some flavorful sausage, such as Andouille... If it gets too spicy, a little sour cream will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Your rice dish was great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very yummy! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I doubled the turkey because I didn't want to save half a package. It was excellent as a main dish! Next time I am going to try it with diced tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Yum! Whole family loved it. Doubled the spices and added kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
We love this healthy version of dirty rice. I use instant brown rice instead of regular brown rice. We always make this with dried black beans cooked in the crock pot all day seasoned with cumin, chili powder, chicken broth, salt and pepper. PERFECT health meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaBensMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Loved it. I added black beans. A favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for dinner, made a few changes added red pepper and actual diced celery instead of celery flake,and I doubled the portion. We ate it as a side dish for the first night along with some catfish and coleslaw. We ate it as a meal for lunch the second day and it was even better. The flavors melded together better on day two. I also used Tony Chachere seasoning for Cajun spice blend, THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States