Ke's Cajun (Dirty) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I hate leaving a low rating, but at the same time I'm getting tired of seeing these high star ratings, then spending my time and money to prepare the dish, and having it be so bad my family wont even eat it. While everyones palate does vary, this dish is very bland. I doubled the cajun seasoning, but it was still bland. In stead of adding plain water, I added chicken broth - and that seamed to help. Then I served it with sour cream. But my family was disappointed (as was I) and asked me not to make the dish again. NOTE: I had a hard time masking the "turkey taste" with these seasonings. Maybe use ground chicken instead. And possibly add some flavorful sausage, such as Andouille... If it gets too spicy, a little sour cream will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Your rice dish was great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very yummy! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I doubled the turkey because I didn't want to save half a package. It was excellent as a main dish! Next time I am going to try it with diced tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Yum! Whole family loved it. Doubled the spices and added kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
We love this healthy version of dirty rice. I use instant brown rice instead of regular brown rice. We always make this with dried black beans cooked in the crock pot all day seasoned with cumin, chili powder, chicken broth, salt and pepper. PERFECT health meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaBensMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Loved it. I added black beans. A favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for dinner, made a few changes added red pepper and actual diced celery instead of celery flake,and I doubled the portion. We ate it as a side dish for the first night along with some catfish and coleslaw. We ate it as a meal for lunch the second day and it was even better. The flavors melded together better on day two. I also used Tony Chachere seasoning for Cajun spice blend, THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Way too bland when we followed the recipe (without meat for side dish). Added more seasonings and about 6-7 ounces tomato sauce for double recipe, gave it flavor w/o just tasting hot, like adding hot sauce etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe for dirty rice. I chose it because it used ground turkey and I had some on hand. The only thing I changed was using about an 1" long piece of minced celery that I added to the meat when cooking the onion, pepper and garlic and that was because I could not find dried celery flakes at the store. Topped my bowl off with a couple dashes of Tobasco sauce and had a filling and delicious lunch. Used a Cajun seasoning mix off of this site (Cajun Spice Mix by Bobbie Jean) and know I'll make this again. Very adaptable recipe too! I can see using turkey sausage or adding diced tomato and/or beans. Great side dish or light meal. Thanks akatenacious3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Doubled the turkey to make more of a main dish. Added some hot sauce and corn, but still a little bland. Would use more seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States