Ke's Cajun (Dirty) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
We love this healthy version of dirty rice. I use instant brown rice instead of regular brown rice. We always make this with dried black beans cooked in the crock pot all day seasoned with cumin, chili powder, chicken broth, salt and pepper. PERFECT health meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaBensMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Loved it. I added black beans. A favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for dinner, made a few changes added red pepper and actual diced celery instead of celery flake,and I doubled the portion. We ate it as a side dish for the first night along with some catfish and coleslaw. We ate it as a meal for lunch the second day and it was even better. The flavors melded together better on day two. I also used Tony Chachere seasoning for Cajun spice blend, THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Way too bland when we followed the recipe (without meat for side dish). Added more seasonings and about 6-7 ounces tomato sauce for double recipe, gave it flavor w/o just tasting hot, like adding hot sauce etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe for dirty rice. I chose it because it used ground turkey and I had some on hand. The only thing I changed was using about an 1" long piece of minced celery that I added to the meat when cooking the onion, pepper and garlic and that was because I could not find dried celery flakes at the store. Topped my bowl off with a couple dashes of Tobasco sauce and had a filling and delicious lunch. Used a Cajun seasoning mix off of this site (Cajun Spice Mix by Bobbie Jean) and know I'll make this again. Very adaptable recipe too! I can see using turkey sausage or adding diced tomato and/or beans. Great side dish or light meal. Thanks akatenacious3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Doubled the turkey to make more of a main dish. Added some hot sauce and corn, but still a little bland. Would use more seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
A great side or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Good basic recipe but the seasonings definitely need to be altered if you prefer kick in your dinner. I practically tripled the Cajun seasoning and added the following: 1/2 t. gumbo file, Louisiana hot sauce to taste(~1T.) and red chili flakes to taste (~1/2t.). I omitted the celery salt (didn't have any on hand) and subbed in yellow and red bell peppers for the green and ground beef for the turkey. I also added a chopped tomato just to use up some produce. I can't wait to eat this tomorrow after the spices have really sunk in - mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
very simple, yet tasty...i will use it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I liked this, it created a perfect base to add whatever other seasonings and spices desired. Instead of the celery flakes, I put two stalks of celery in the food processor and chopped them very fine. I also used an entire onion and entire green bell pepper. I added salt, extra cajun seasoning, red pepper flakes, and a little cayenne. It tasted a lot like Zatarains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States