Ke's Cajun (Dirty) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I served this with tequila shrimp, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I omitted the ground turkey and the minced garlic. I tripled the recipe. Except I didn't measure the bell pepper, I just used one red and two green. If you triple this recipe, you end up with 3 tsp of Cajun seasoning. That would be horribly bland. I used 10 tsp. Part of the reason is because instead of using ground turkey, I cooked about 3 pounds of boneless pork ribs in a crock pot with enough water to almost cover the meat, plus 2 T of Cajun seasoning. When the pork was done cooking I cut it up into bite size pieces and added it to everything else. This recipe says to add 1/3 cup of water once you have all the ingredients simmering together. I added at least a cup. Just eyeball it and see how it looks. I don't like my dirty rice all soupy, but I wanted enough water to mix in all the seasoning. This recipe is too bland as written, but it's a great starting point. If you triple the Cajun seasoning as I did and it's too spicy for you or someone else, just add some sour cream. It tones down the heat and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I used a half pound of ground turkey sausage and a half pound of ground turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very good, added cajun sausage along with the turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Outstanding "base" for a quick and tasty Cajun rice recipe. I also beefed up the seasonings. I added a touch more Cajun seasoning, instead of bell pepper I used just ain white onions, I added corn on the cob, and instead of turkey, I used sliced up sausage. I also added beef bouillion cubes to the rice to give it more dept in flavor. This is now a staple dish in out family. Props to whoever wrote this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
WOW! what a simple, tasty, filling dish! Like some of the other reviews, I added tomatoes, kidney beans, and Cajun seasoning. I don't typically measure ingredients for dishes like this. I'm doing Dr Oz's Two Week Rapid Weight Loss Diet and it calls for 6oz of lean meat (ground turkey breast) and 1/2 cup brown rice and unlimited amounts of certain selected low GI veggies...so this dish was perfect! And it was very filling. Added a side of steamed broccoli for a full meal! Thanks for sharing. I think I'll make it again a couple of times while on my 2week Dr Oz journey! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I hate leaving a low rating, but at the same time I'm getting tired of seeing these high star ratings, then spending my time and money to prepare the dish, and having it be so bad my family wont even eat it. While everyones palate does vary, this dish is very bland. I doubled the cajun seasoning, but it was still bland. In stead of adding plain water, I added chicken broth - and that seamed to help. Then I served it with sour cream. But my family was disappointed (as was I) and asked me not to make the dish again. NOTE: I had a hard time masking the "turkey taste" with these seasonings. Maybe use ground chicken instead. And possibly add some flavorful sausage, such as Andouille... If it gets too spicy, a little sour cream will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Your rice dish was great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very yummy! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I doubled the turkey because I didn't want to save half a package. It was excellent as a main dish! Next time I am going to try it with diced tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States