Kerry's Sweet Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I was looking for a sweet potato latkes recipe because I can't have white potatoes due to allergy. I am so glad I found this and tried this recipe! I was eating them as I was cooking them and couldn't stop! Fortunately for others, I did not eat all of them up! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly as it is the first time and made it with dehydrated onion the second time. I used local (Big Island) purple sweet potatoes I wasn't sure about the quantity of potatoes to use, so I added the potatoes a dollop at a time to the egg mixture until I had the consistency I wanted. I made it for the girls at book club when I was making French/Jewish (w/ a local twist) meal. It was a big hit, I'm glad there were leftovers for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Yum! I added a little brown sugar as well, the second batch. A bit hit both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was a great way to use a sweet potato. I didn't rinse the grated potato in salt water, and I added Mrs. Dash instead of pepper. The first four came out a little dark, but all the rest came out great! Served with unsweetened applesauce to balance the sweetness of the potato. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
amazing, so easy, great with home made applesauce (see sarah's applesauce recipe) and a dollop of plain yogurt. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Easy to make and yummy! Make sure the oil doesn't get too hot so they cook all the way through before you flip them. I didn't add onions and they came out just as good. Also, I didn't need any extra egg like another reviewer said. I think it depends on the size of the sweet potato you buy. Next time I make it I will be adding brown sugar. I didn't serve mine with yogurt and applesauce and they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These turned out delicious! I did need to add another egg, and maybe half an onion was a little too much for my tastes, but these are personal choices. For the yogurt topping, I strained the yogurt for a few hours mixed with a little sea salt, cayenne, and fresh parsley -- a rich, creamy, flavorful addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used Japanese sweet potatoes, an extra egg and fried in bacon grease-totally awesome. Next time I will experiment with some herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These turned out quite tasty. Instead of small ones, I just made 4 large latkes. I didnt' want to fry them, so I cooked them on my pancakes griddle for about 5 minutes per side and finished them off in the oven. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Easy to make and very tasty. I added one more egg as well as some chopped fresh basil and chopped garlic.. Prior to adding the grated potato to the egg mixture, i microwaved it a few minutes with a few stirs inbetween to make sure it was well cooked. And after forming the patty, I pressed it into a panko/parmesan cheese/salt and pepper mixture. This added good flavor and a yummy crunchy outside. The applesauce idea was great and i squeezed some lemon into the plain yogurt. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States