Kerry's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This recipe inspired a variation: I spread strawberry cream cheese on a slice of bread, then sprinkled with a little cinnamon, then brown sugar, then spread another slice of bread with a little of the cream cheese and formed a sandwich. Then I coated it in an egg/milk mixture and browned it in olive oil! Deeeeeelicious!!! Thanks for the inspiration, Kerry!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Was looking for something different but not to complicated, this recipe was great. Like others I didn't have all the spices on hand but added my own variation and everyone loved it especially my little ones. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
ABSOLUTE YUMMINESS!!! This recipe is soooo good. I didnt have any brown sugar so I substituted it for white sugar. I also omitted the allspice since I didnt have that either. The end result was DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This is a tasty breakfast/brunch treat. I added chopped walnuts to the cream cheese mixture for more texture--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I used wheat bread. It worked. My 18 month old loved it. And her daddy. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
What a fantastic base recipe! You should make this one with love! Eyeball sugar and spice amounts and adjust to your own taste. I used Pepperidge Farm Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Swirl Bread. It is a nice firm, tasty bread with just the right thickness for stuffing. I used pumpkin pie spice, which was easier to toss around than each individual spice. I also sprinkled Splenda on top instead of powdered sugar (that's all I had in the cupboard!) which had the same pretty effect. Thanks for this idea, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe is great and I have made this more times than I should actually admit for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Yum, yum! I cut the cream cheese mixture in half and added blueberries to it. I also put some vanilla in the egg/milk mixture. It was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by TRAILINDAWG
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I thought it was phenominal, my bride said 'very tasty' but she is not a huge allspice fan. I cut the recipe in half and even cut down more on the allspice. I had PLENTY for 3 sandwiches and could've made 4. Served it with powdered sugar (see pic) and sliced strawberries. The possibilities are endless. I think we will next try the cream cheese mixed with peanut butter and mini chocolate chips. Mabye then the kids will eat french toast. This is a wonderful breakfast grilled cheese type sandwich and would be perfect at a brunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I love Kerry's French Toast! The flavor of the cream cheese, spices, and sugar is perfect in the egg dipped bread. And preparation is easy too since no pockets have to be cut and the bread stuffed. I mixed some warm water with orange marmalade and drizzled it on top. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States