Kerry's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This is really easy and really tasty. I used the sourdough bread I had on hand with some mixed berry cream cheese. It was still good. Next time I go to the store I think I will get the stuff to try the recipe as printed. My 20 month old loved it and my picky husband asked for seconds. This was great, thanks Kerry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Very good french toast!! Other than reducing the nutmeg by half and adding a splash of vanilla to the egg mixture, I didn't change a thing. However, these make ALOT!! Perhaps I didn't "spread" enough mixture on the bread slices but we made 7 "french toast sandwiches" with plenty of cream cheese AND egg batter to spare. Next time, I half the recipe but I assure you, I will make this again. Thanks Kerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This was so incredibly sweet that it gave me a headache. I think next time I won't put any of the brown sugar in. Also, there was way too much of the cream cheese mixture; like another reviewer mentioned, half would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I used wheat bread. It worked. My 18 month old loved it. And her daddy. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This recipe inspired a variation: I spread strawberry cream cheese on a slice of bread, then sprinkled with a little cinnamon, then brown sugar, then spread another slice of bread with a little of the cream cheese and formed a sandwich. Then I coated it in an egg/milk mixture and browned it in olive oil! Deeeeeelicious!!! Thanks for the inspiration, Kerry!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Really sweet and good. I made the mistake of topping it off with caramel sauce, which made it too sweet and rich for my taste. But the recipe is quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This is a tasty breakfast/brunch treat. I added chopped walnuts to the cream cheese mixture for more texture--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I didn't really care for this. I think it was to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Very filling, very rich. Hubby loved it, kids were not impressed. I would not make that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Was looking for something different but not to complicated, this recipe was great. Like others I didn't have all the spices on hand but added my own variation and everyone loved it especially my little ones. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States