Kerry's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I was looking for a stuffed French toast recipe for Father's Day and wanted one that didn't use fruit (my one daughter won't eat it.) After reading the reviews I chose this recipe and added only 1/2 of the the brown sugar it called for. After tasting the cream cheese mixture, I added the remaining brown sugar, it didn't seem sweet enough with only 1/2 of what was called for. I spread the cream cheese on the bread to what I thought looked like a "good" amount. In the end I ended up with a total of six sandwiches instead of four. I think by using less spread on each sandwich it balanced out the sweetness that other reviewers commented on. The French toast came out really nice, definitely plenty of cream cheese in the middle, I think any more and it would have been a mess to try to cut through. The spices give it a nice taste, especially the allspice. If you're not a big fan of allspice you may want to cut back on it or omit it altogether as you will taste it. The whole family enjoyed the recipe as is, with the exception of using less spread per sandwich. There is plenty of egg mixture for 6 sandwiches too, and I even let them soak for awhile, so there is no need to make extra if you use a few extra slices of bread. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was really good, very rich but good. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
We thought that this was a great stuffed french toast. I made it just as stated. Next time I may cut back on the sugar and add some maple syrup to the cream cheese. And I will definately add some sliced strawberries inside it also....YUM!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Good recipe, something different than the usual french toast - and that's what I was looking for. I used wheat bread, it was all I had, so I would use white bread or something else next time. I also thought there was too much cream cheese, so I would cut down next time to maybe half a cup. Otherwise - tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Really wonderful Mother's Day treat. I halved the brown sugar and used powdered ginger in place of cinnamon (I had run out of cinnamon somehow). Also used nice Challah bread from the bakery for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
What a fantastic base recipe! You should make this one with love! Eyeball sugar and spice amounts and adjust to your own taste. I used Pepperidge Farm Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Swirl Bread. It is a nice firm, tasty bread with just the right thickness for stuffing. I used pumpkin pie spice, which was easier to toss around than each individual spice. I also sprinkled Splenda on top instead of powdered sugar (that's all I had in the cupboard!) which had the same pretty effect. Thanks for this idea, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I will make this again with half as much cinnimon and allspice. Then it will be 5 stars! Really yummy. My husband and children enjoyed. One sandwich was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Pretty good. I cut the brown sugar by half, and it was still a little too sweet in my opinion, and this is coming from a gal who sometimes eats brown sugar by the spoonful! But it is easy and something a little different from the regular french toast. I tried some of it with raisin bread and that was good too. I think it would be a nice addition to a brunch with other non-sweet food, i.e. bacon, eggs, etc. I had mine with strong, black coffee and that kind of helped with the sweetness. Overall a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I used wheat bread. It worked. My 18 month old loved it. And her daddy. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Really sweet and good. I made the mistake of topping it off with caramel sauce, which made it too sweet and rich for my taste. But the recipe is quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States