Kerry's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
ABSOLUTE YUMMINESS!!! This recipe is soooo good. I didnt have any brown sugar so I substituted it for white sugar. I also omitted the allspice since I didnt have that either. The end result was DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
The only comment I have is that you don't need a lot of the cream cheese mixture on each "sandwich". Oops! My mistake! But, my husband and I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONSHINE1296

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This is a tasty breakfast/brunch treat. I added chopped walnuts to the cream cheese mixture for more texture--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This recipe inspired a variation: I spread strawberry cream cheese on a slice of bread, then sprinkled with a little cinnamon, then brown sugar, then spread another slice of bread with a little of the cream cheese and formed a sandwich. Then I coated it in an egg/milk mixture and browned it in olive oil! Deeeeeelicious!!! Thanks for the inspiration, Kerry!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Very good french toast!! Other than reducing the nutmeg by half and adding a splash of vanilla to the egg mixture, I didn't change a thing. However, these make ALOT!! Perhaps I didn't "spread" enough mixture on the bread slices but we made 7 "french toast sandwiches" with plenty of cream cheese AND egg batter to spare. Next time, I half the recipe but I assure you, I will make this again. Thanks Kerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This is really easy and really tasty. I used the sourdough bread I had on hand with some mixed berry cream cheese. It was still good. Next time I go to the store I think I will get the stuff to try the recipe as printed. My 20 month old loved it and my picky husband asked for seconds. This was great, thanks Kerry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Was looking for something different but not to complicated, this recipe was great. Like others I didn't have all the spices on hand but added my own variation and everyone loved it especially my little ones. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This was so incredibly sweet that it gave me a headache. I think next time I won't put any of the brown sugar in. Also, there was way too much of the cream cheese mixture; like another reviewer mentioned, half would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Very filling, very rich. Hubby loved it, kids were not impressed. I would not make that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I didn't really care for this. I think it was to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States