Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This salad was absolutely fantastic! We had our 2 boys birthdays combined over the weekend, did a buffet style dinner with 14 adults and 7 kids...almost the entire salad disappeared (to my dismay, I was looking forward to leftovers!). My only changes: used italian parsley instead of cilantro, doubled the vinegar as suggested and cut down the oil, it was great! I also didn't use the lettuce leaves. I think next time I will try a wild rice blend instead of long grain white. Great dish, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This will tickle your tastebuds and wake up your mouth! A very flavorful salad with a kick, and it presents a colorful and inviting appearance. Perfect for a pot luck. Do use less oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
this was pretty good, it wasn't spectacular, but i would make it again with some changes. i forgot to do less oil like everyone suggested, i think it would help alot. i added some crumbled feta cheese and it was pretty delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHASINRABBITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe. It is now a summer "must have" for myself and best friend. We used short grain brown rice and a bit more garlic. What a great one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Very colorful and very good. I used double vinegar and half oil as suggested by other reviewers. At first, I thought it was too much vinegar to my taste but with time the flavors blended well. There was no barley at the grocery store, I replaced it with pearled soft wheat and it worked as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
The recipe makes at least 12 SERVINGS at 1/2 cup. Otherwise, a truly exceptional salad in taste and texture. I prefer to heat the olive oil up to about 200 degree or so and add the garlic and red pepper flakes to it. This technique always adds extra zip to oil soluable flavors in these spices. I also took the advice of those who suggested more vinegar and less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Although my family enjoys this dish--- I took it to a picnic, and only 2 people even tried it. Most of it got thrown away. So, not a big crowd pleaser, but tasty if you enjoy this kind of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Made the recipe exactly as stated. Everyone LOVED it. The kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Awesome salad! Made the following changes: to the dressing, I added 2 T white sugar, 1 T each lemon and lime juice, 1/2 T Cumin, and some Chipotle hot sauce. To the salad, I used all hulled barley (no rice), 1 sweet onion instead of green, doubled the corn (used frozen), and omitted the lettuce. I also added some garbonzo beans, chopped cucumber, a yellow bell pepper, and some tomatoes. Also followed other reviews about the dressing ingredients ratios. The addition of Chipotle sauce and Cumin give this salad a fantastic smoky taste with a kick! Terrific salad...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
As some other reviewers have suggested, this salad is lacking in pizzaz. It tastes ok and it is certainly edible but just not spectacular. However I gave this recipe four stars because it is very colorful and eye catching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States