Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Was good. Had no corna dn substituted mirin and a little agave for the red wine vinegar. Also left out the salt but it needed it after. Used Kasha instead of barley cause I didnt have any. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess in NY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was a fun salad to make! I altered it as suggested by other reviewers, also I put the entire cans of beans in the salad since I didn't want to have any left in the can to deal with. My kids even ate this up-so much that there were no leftovers. My pickiest eater ate four bowls (although my kids aren't afraid of salads & grown up foods) I think this would be good in a wrap and maybe play with the dressing...something with lime would be good too, but it's excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was GREAT! Everyone loved it. I did make some changes: omitted the lettuce, doubled vinegar, doubled garlic, added a can of italian diced tomatoes, used regular onion instead of green, used dried beans - soaked and boiled without salt, halved the oil. It was awesome! Even my 2 year old couldn't get enough. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was edible but a little bland. It reminded me a lot of "Black Bean and Couscous Salad" only not as flavorful and yummy. It made decent leftovers for lunch, both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I'll make this again. My husband likes to add hot sauce, or cayanne pepper to so many things but this salad is hot enough I know he'll enjoy the heat, it's not too hot for me so good in that dept. I added the premixed salad approx 11/2 cups to the dish rather than salad leaves to the bowl it sits in, also celery which gives it a little crunch and nice mix to the dish. I had some fresh basil so that too rounded it off beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was delicious! Full of flavor and filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is strikingly similar to another salad recipe I've been using for a few years--"Quinoa, Corn, and Bean Salad". If anyone's interested in that variation, just substitute a cup of quinoa for the grains, add some chopped tomatoes and celery, and to the dressing add about a tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice and a few tsps of honey--there you pretty much have it. When I made Kerry's version I used quick-cooking barley so I was able to cook it with the rice, a huge time-saver. I did double the vinegar, halve the oil, and I added some lime juice + honey--if you love lime like I do it really adds zip, and the honey takes away any bitterness. I can't get enough of this salad, and I'm so glad to have a variation of an old standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was great. I used all white rice because I had a lot of leftovers and I cut the oil in half. It's better made in advance so the flavors can set in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Wonderful salad. Made this dish as a side for a family BBQ and everyone, including the children, enjoyed this dish. I used brown basmati rice instead of the white long grain to add a nutty flavour which worked out very well. I also used pot barley instead of pearl because I like the larger grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States