Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I wish I had looked at comments before making as I agree it needed a little more "kick" for our taste but love it anyway.I did add a little more vinegar for this time & will definitely cut oil & add more vinegar. But what a great nutrient packed dish! I had some leftover Uncle Bens long grain rice so used that instead of cooking more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My daughter-in-law referred me to this recipe, I loved it when she made it, but of course I had to alter a few things. Firstly I skip the lettuce, add chick peas to the ingredients, as well as sliced black olives and on occasion Feta cheese. Regretfully I don't get to make the recipe too often due to the fact anything less than 6 servings doesn't warrant opening all those cans. BUT for potluck, large family dinners, etc...it's great. Everyone compliments me on the recipe. I do find though after a few days in the fridge it loses it's zest for life. A healthy and filling salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I omitted the bulgar and doubled the rice, using brown vs white rice. I also omitted the corn, but used an additional (green) pepper. Next time I will make a bit more of the sauce (1.5x the called for ingredients) just because we loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
We love this recipe! It is ALWAYS a hit when we bring it! I use brown rice to make it even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamiethelibrarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Delicious salad! I subbed chickpeas for the kidney beans which I thought I had but didn't, and it turned out great! Next time, I will definitely cut the oil down by half. ***This salad makes a huge amount...surely more than 6 servings. The leftovers make a delicious lunche throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I have been making this recipe for a couple years now since I saw it on allrecipes and it is fabulous! I have reduced the amount of olive oil to 1/3 cup over the years but it tastes great both ways. This is a great cold salad but what I found to be the best is to combine this with some canned diced tomatoes then top with cheese and microwave it for a couple minutes. This is now my staple lunch and it is so good and healthy!! My family also uses this in their burritos with taco meat or as a topping for their nachos. It lasts a week in the fridge. I can not say enough about this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Subtly spicy. I like the variety of texture and color. I did follow another reviewer's suggestion and doubled the vinegar, garlic, and red pepper flakes. I also halved the oil. I took this to a work function, mixing the salad ingredients and the dressing ingredients separately the night before and then combining them that morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The crowd at last night's neighborhood BBQ gobbled it up, went back for seconds and thirds, and many asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and brought home an empty bowl. This is one of those salads that allows you to use different beans and vegetables without comprising its good flavor. The dressing is key here. I added more red wine vinegar, 1 T. white sugar, some fresh key lime juice, lots of cumin, freshly ground black pepper, sea salt, and cayenne (rather than pepper flakes). Definitely wanted lots of color, so I used yellow and orange peppers, minced celery, and bright red tomatoes. I made this 24 hours in advance, and it not only held up beautifully, but the wait improved flavor immensely. I added a lot of fresh cilantro and chopped fresh tomatoes at the last minute. It's such a fresh-tasting, pretty salad. Don't be afraid to spice it up, and go hog wild with various types of beans. Note: If you make this salad the day before, it'll really soak up the dressing overnight, so take that into consideration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
oh yeah, this salad is AWESOME. i used brown rice and added a little more garlic and a dash of cumin as others had suggested. it's so good, i can't wait to serve it for a party tomorrow! I really think people will love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a big hit with my healthy food friends. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States