Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Was good. Had no corna dn substituted mirin and a little agave for the red wine vinegar. Also left out the salt but it needed it after. Used Kasha instead of barley cause I didnt have any. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess in NY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was a fun salad to make! I altered it as suggested by other reviewers, also I put the entire cans of beans in the salad since I didn't want to have any left in the can to deal with. My kids even ate this up-so much that there were no leftovers. My pickiest eater ate four bowls (although my kids aren't afraid of salads & grown up foods) I think this would be good in a wrap and maybe play with the dressing...something with lime would be good too, but it's excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was GREAT! Everyone loved it. I did make some changes: omitted the lettuce, doubled vinegar, doubled garlic, added a can of italian diced tomatoes, used regular onion instead of green, used dried beans - soaked and boiled without salt, halved the oil. It was awesome! Even my 2 year old couldn't get enough. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was edible but a little bland. It reminded me a lot of "Black Bean and Couscous Salad" only not as flavorful and yummy. It made decent leftovers for lunch, both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I'll make this again. My husband likes to add hot sauce, or cayanne pepper to so many things but this salad is hot enough I know he'll enjoy the heat, it's not too hot for me so good in that dept. I added the premixed salad approx 11/2 cups to the dish rather than salad leaves to the bowl it sits in, also celery which gives it a little crunch and nice mix to the dish. I had some fresh basil so that too rounded it off beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was delicious! Full of flavor and filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is strikingly similar to another salad recipe I've been using for a few years--"Quinoa, Corn, and Bean Salad". If anyone's interested in that variation, just substitute a cup of quinoa for the grains, add some chopped tomatoes and celery, and to the dressing add about a tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice and a few tsps of honey--there you pretty much have it. When I made Kerry's version I used quick-cooking barley so I was able to cook it with the rice, a huge time-saver. I did double the vinegar, halve the oil, and I added some lime juice + honey--if you love lime like I do it really adds zip, and the honey takes away any bitterness. I can't get enough of this salad, and I'm so glad to have a variation of an old standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was great. I used all white rice because I had a lot of leftovers and I cut the oil in half. It's better made in advance so the flavors can set in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Wonderful salad. Made this dish as a side for a family BBQ and everyone, including the children, enjoyed this dish. I used brown basmati rice instead of the white long grain to add a nutty flavour which worked out very well. I also used pot barley instead of pearl because I like the larger grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States