Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used half the amount of oil and whole cans (15 oz) of beans. Delicious!! Rave reviews at a party! Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was good but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very good!! I just skipped the cilantro because i don't like it! very tasty and very good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Excellant recipe the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very delicious! The vinegar adds a nice zip. So fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Overall, I thought the salad was very good. However, I did find the onion to be too strong for my taste, even though I had chopped it very finely and only used what the recipe called for (1/2 cup). I will probably sautee it for a few minutes before mixing it in next time. Other than that, the salad was wonderful, especially after sitting in the fridge for a few hours. Thank you! EDIT: I just made this recipe for the 3rd time. I decided to substitute the raw onion for onion powder, and I loved the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherny2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Added two stalks of celery for some crunch and used 3/4 c. barley, whole 15 oz cans of beans and corn then adjusted recipe calculation to nine servings to get right amounts for dressing. Left rest of amounts as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
YUM YUM!! I made this Sunday night to eat for lunch all week and it was so yummy! I used all barley (no rice) because I wanted a healthy grain salad. I omitted the kidney beans because I don't like them. I also didn't have red wine vinegar so I used balsamic vinegar, and cut back on the oil and it was still good. Very fresh flavors. Even hubby liked it! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joloves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very good and light tasting salad. I used all barley, (no rice), and omitted black beans and cilantro, (didn't have any). This recipe will be used many times this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
We love this salad. I've been making it for several years now, and we like it since it's healthy and delicious. Perfect for summertime. I just use a whole can each of the kidney and black beans and corn. Also, I use only barley instead of the brown rice, and not as much as it calls for. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States