Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I do not like my curry fire-hot, so I only used 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper instead of the recommended 2 tsps. Next time I will start with 1/4 tsp. I doubled the peas. It was easy to make and will become a favorite in our home. Thank you Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Really good! I found it a little spicy hot so next time I'll use a little less cayenne pepper, the 2 tsp was too much and I like spicy. I also thought the curry sauce was a little thin and would most likely try to thinken it. But def. a keeper recipe thanks so much for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very good and easy to make!! I made this with only 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, doubled the peas, added a chicken breast, and halved the mushrooms (since my roommates don't like them). It was pretty soupy, so next time I plan to use 3 cups peas, add 2 cups cubed potatoes, and I might throw in some carrots. Overall, I definitely recommend this recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Loved It - I like it spicy. I used 1 more half breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I have never tried to cook curry at home before, so I will also add that the recipe is very easy to make. The only changes that I made were doubling the recipe and using half of the required cayenne pepper. Even with half, it was still very spicy, but not unbearable. I also substituted frozen chopped spinach for the peas--and that made it even better. I served it with basmati rice and made enough for leftovers all week...I am on day four and not even tired of it yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I have to admit, when I mixed the sauce for this dish together, I was pretty skeptical. Two cans of condensed soup and a packet of onion soup mix is a lot of processed food, and mixing it with coconut milk just seemed . . . odd. Odd and a little wrong. But I'm always on the lookout for interesting slow-cooker meals, so I gave it a shot. Really, it's not half bad. Completely unlike any curry I've ever had, except for the curry powder, but not half bad. Taste-wise, it probably deserves four stars, but I'm giving it three because I still find the heavy reliance on processed ingredients disturbing (as well as the sodium content - yikes!) That said, it was easy and my husband liked it, so I might make it again. Definitely doesn't need that extra 1/2 tsp of salt, though; there's plenty in the three soup products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I thought this was a very interesting set of ingredients. I loved the flavor, but both my husband and I felt that all the creaminess made it too heavy/rich, not to mention lots of calories! I think I'll make it again, and instead substituting chicken broth for the cream of chicken soup and lite coconut milk instead of regular. I cut down on the cayenne as suggested, but I could've stuck with more. Otherwise this was easy and satisfied my craving for curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I feel bad reviewing this so low, but neither my husband and I liked this. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the cayenne. Maybe it was just us, or maybe I did something wrong, but not a hit at our house. I was so sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe. It really went well over rice. If it were eaten by itself, would probably added a little flour to give the broth some body. We normally don't salt recipes, but definitely recommend it. We also left out the hot peppers. Was delicious. We also used both white and dark chicken instead of all white. Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeeJeepCrawl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Fantastic! Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States