Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good and so easy to make. I used olive oil instead of butter and browned the onion in the slow cooker on the "brown" setting, added the chicken toward the end of the browning b/c 3 hours on low - my slow cooker doesn't have a high and low setting - didn't seem enough to me. I used thinly sliced chicken breast cut into about 1" pieces so it cooked up nicely - was tender and delicious in the end product. I added some fresh baby spinach with about 30 minutes left to cook since I had some from the garden that needed to get used and it went very well. I also used 1/2 tsp of cayenne and can't imagine using more. It would have been too hot, especially since I am serving children along with adults. I'm curious about the serving size and calories though. What size serving is getting the 635 calorie mark? 2 cups or only 1? It seems like a lot for 1 cup but maybe the soups bumped it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I thought this was pretty mediocore. I liked the idea of being able to make it in a slow-cooker, but in the end it really didn't save any effort. I actually used more dishes to cook it than I would have had I done my usual method. I didn't like all the soups because it didn't add flavor, just substance. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe did not antisipate it comming out so well. The chicken comes out mega tender. I upscaled the recipe to 8 servings and it was still great. Bookmark this one do yourselfe a favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My family asks for this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Terrible! First of all it doesn't taste a bit like any curry dish I've ever had. It's lacking definite flavor. Too much onion. I added extra curry and cayenne pepper, and it still tasted like brown gravy over chicken and veggies. Would not make this again. I don't know how anyone could call this dish "curry." Adding curry powder to a dish with no other true spices does not make it a curry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Delicious. 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper was enough. I added a bell pepper and one clove of garlic. Next time I am going to omit the potatoes, add another chicken breast and serve it over coconut lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I've tried lots of recipes on here but this is the first one that was SO easy and SO good that I just had to review it. I am not a good cook, so recipes need to be very simple and not require a lot of prep work. I made this exactly as written (minus the cayenne - I can't handle spicy foods) and it was excellent! Even without the cayenne it had tons of flavor! Unfortunately, my family ate the whole thing the first night so we didn't have any leftovers - that's my only complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We love this recipe. I replace the mushrooms (as we don't care for their texture) with any mix of veggies we have. I have even served this to a friend who a huge curry fan & he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
More like 4.5 stars. I just finished my first helping and it was delicious. I used about 1.5 times the curry and pepper the recipe called for. I like bold flavor and it really was. Next time I am going to raisins and/or currants. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
loved the subtle coconut flavor throughout this delicious and easy dish. I only added 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper and the family asked for less of it next time. Other than that, it was a big hit in our house. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States