Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Super easy to make and very tasty. I made the original recipe and it was crazy hot! I will make it again but only with 1/4 the cayenne pepper. One of the better curry dishes I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by original_guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This tasted really good. Prep time was much longer then stated but guess I am not the most organized cook...lol I tweaked a bit and added a bit more coconut milk, added some ginger, and graham marsala. I also cubed us some sweet potatoes and threw in a hefty bunch of fresh spinach. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
less cayenne pepper; more chicken breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Yes I made this about a week ago and it was fantistic. Highly recommended and very easy to do. Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this recipe last night and it came out unbelievable. My husband said over and over how much he loved this dish. However, I did tweek a few things. I didn't add additional salt as recipe called for, I did however add a pinch of salt to onions while browning. Also, I cut the cayenne pepper in half and it was plenty hot. I added 1tsp of garam masala to give it more flavor. Cooked it for 7 hours on low. I will definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Good stuff, Keon! I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp after reading other reviews, and it was terrific. I used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts because I love their flavour. No other changes except for the reduced-sodium versions of the canned soup. I also thought the sauce might be a tad thin, but it mixed nicely with rice, plus it made a really good thick soup for my lunch the next day, with a nice piece of crusty bread. It was super easy and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I couldn't find my cayenne pepper, so I substituted chili powder and it wasn't hot at all. It was, however, really tasty! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious!!! I made the following changes, some on purpose and some by accident: I bought as many low sodium soups that I could find and omitted the salt; I used 6-8 chicken breasts, added 1 bag of raw zipper bag shrimp (during the last hour), I substituted the cream of chicken soup for cream of potatoe (this thickened up the sauce), 5 tbsp curry, 2 tsp garam masala, 3/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne. These are the only changes I made, I didn't double up the soups because several people said there was a tonne of sauce. These quantities were absolutely perfect! We loved it. It had just enough kick! I also discovered this recipe at 1:30 in the afternoon and I really wanted to make it. So I cooked the chicken breasts from frozen on high for 2 hours I then took them out cut them up, which was a breeze and then put them back in with the shrimp and conitnued on high for abother 1 1/2 hours. Thank you Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Do NOT add cubed potatoes & sweet potatoes as some reviewers have suggested. While it sounded like a good idea, these did not cook in the allotted time and were raw & crunchy. Had to fish them out of the sauce before serving! If you wish to add these, pre-boil them and then add at the end. I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp. per previous comments and it was still quite spicy! Next time I'll reduce to perhaps 1/3 tsp. This makes a lot of sauce, so double the peas, which adds some more color to this colorless dish! Also added 1 Tb. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my new favorite!! Had to tweak it but only because I didn't have the exact ingredient list but I think it came out divine. No fresh mushroom so I used two cans of organic mushrooms.....HATE peas so I substituted green pepper....sauteed all this in the butter with the onions. Didn't have cream of chicken so I used two cream of mushroom.....and I rarely buy dry onion soup mix so I added beef bouillon granules, California garlic powder and some dried onions. I rarely eat rice and have found with spicy dishes like this, smashed red potatoes is just perfect (must be the Irish in me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States