Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This tasted really good. Prep time was much longer then stated but guess I am not the most organized cook...lol I tweaked a bit and added a bit more coconut milk, added some ginger, and graham marsala. I also cubed us some sweet potatoes and threw in a hefty bunch of fresh spinach. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
less cayenne pepper; more chicken breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Yes I made this about a week ago and it was fantistic. Highly recommended and very easy to do. Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this recipe last night and it came out unbelievable. My husband said over and over how much he loved this dish. However, I did tweek a few things. I didn't add additional salt as recipe called for, I did however add a pinch of salt to onions while browning. Also, I cut the cayenne pepper in half and it was plenty hot. I added 1tsp of garam masala to give it more flavor. Cooked it for 7 hours on low. I will definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Good stuff, Keon! I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp after reading other reviews, and it was terrific. I used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts because I love their flavour. No other changes except for the reduced-sodium versions of the canned soup. I also thought the sauce might be a tad thin, but it mixed nicely with rice, plus it made a really good thick soup for my lunch the next day, with a nice piece of crusty bread. It was super easy and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I couldn't find my cayenne pepper, so I substituted chili powder and it wasn't hot at all. It was, however, really tasty! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious!!! I made the following changes, some on purpose and some by accident: I bought as many low sodium soups that I could find and omitted the salt; I used 6-8 chicken breasts, added 1 bag of raw zipper bag shrimp (during the last hour), I substituted the cream of chicken soup for cream of potatoe (this thickened up the sauce), 5 tbsp curry, 2 tsp garam masala, 3/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne. These are the only changes I made, I didn't double up the soups because several people said there was a tonne of sauce. These quantities were absolutely perfect! We loved it. It had just enough kick! I also discovered this recipe at 1:30 in the afternoon and I really wanted to make it. So I cooked the chicken breasts from frozen on high for 2 hours I then took them out cut them up, which was a breeze and then put them back in with the shrimp and conitnued on high for abother 1 1/2 hours. Thank you Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Do NOT add cubed potatoes & sweet potatoes as some reviewers have suggested. While it sounded like a good idea, these did not cook in the allotted time and were raw & crunchy. Had to fish them out of the sauce before serving! If you wish to add these, pre-boil them and then add at the end. I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp. per previous comments and it was still quite spicy! Next time I'll reduce to perhaps 1/3 tsp. This makes a lot of sauce, so double the peas, which adds some more color to this colorless dish! Also added 1 Tb. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my new favorite!! Had to tweak it but only because I didn't have the exact ingredient list but I think it came out divine. No fresh mushroom so I used two cans of organic mushrooms.....HATE peas so I substituted green pepper....sauteed all this in the butter with the onions. Didn't have cream of chicken so I used two cream of mushroom.....and I rarely buy dry onion soup mix so I added beef bouillon granules, California garlic powder and some dried onions. I rarely eat rice and have found with spicy dishes like this, smashed red potatoes is just perfect (must be the Irish in me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
it certainly has potential. Since I am an avid cook of and lover of Indian food (hubby is Indian) then it may be unfair for me to pass judgment here. However, if you want quick and easy, I say do this recipe. My guess is everyone should continue their attempts until tweaked to their own perfection/taste. I served with (what else) Basmai rice. Thanks Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnaff9093

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States