Kentucky Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very nice soup, made just as the recipe calls for. It has an interesting layer of flavor with the coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by MelissaR
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is a keeper! There were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have carrots, so I made it without....it is super easy and so so good. The coffee adds a depth of flavor and smokey delight. I added basil and extra salt to mine. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Had to try this and am glad I did. This soup is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was very very good. It was fun to watch the change while pureeing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaelbacon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Ok. For the sake of novelty I had to try this soup. Coffee? In tomato soup?? Really??? Really. It works. The coffee adds a ... beefiness. Plus this fresh tomato soup couldn't be any easier ~ no blanching and peeling tomatoes!! Just buzz with the immersion blender then add half-n-half to desired creaminess. I finished the soup with fresh basil and thyme, but it really is good without. .... coffee... huh... who woulda thunk.... thanks lagirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
What a flavorful soup! Also fast and easy to make. I pureed it in our VitaMix all in one batch, no problems. We used freshly picked garden tomatoes and flat-leaf parsley from my herb garden. The coffee gave it a smokey flavor. My husband actually asked, "did you smoke these tomatoes first or something?"! The only thing I substituted was canned condensed milk for the heavy cream. The heavy cream probably would have been a more delicate flavor, but I learned the condensed milk trick last year, it's cheaper, I always have it around the house, and then the rest of the cream doesn't go bad because I rarely use it, plus it's lower in fat for my family and for recipes like this where it's just a little bit, it doesn't make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is the best tomato soup recipe! I've made it several times now and figured I better get on here and give it a good review so others will try it. I can't wait to try it this summer with fresh tomatoes from my garden, but being that I found the recipe n winter, I've been using quality canned tomatoes and it still is a tremendous recipe! Not to mention a great way to sneak in veggies with the kiddos. What kid can say no to grilled cheese and tomato soup? :) My favorite part is the texture. It reminds me a lot of LaMadeleine's tomato basil bisque without the basil. Maybe I will do what another reviewer said and try it with basil added next time. Thank you LAGIRL for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Of course I have to give this recipe five stars - it's my own! Funny enough, I had forgotten about it until I did a tomato soup search and it popped up as an option! Remember - use homegrown or farmer's market fresh tomatoes for the best taste. Second choice is homegrown tomatoes that you canned back in the summertime. Do not use hard, yucky grocery store winter tomatoes and expect this to turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is no typical tomato soup and explodes with flavour with I tried it the first time. My husband suggested adding small meatballs - a great addition for meat-lovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brisbois_c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States