Kentucky Style Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I love fried green tomatoes, and this recipe is great! The only recomendation that I would have would be to try adding some cayenne to the coating - it definately adds a zip to them. Also, one reviewer mentioned that the coating was "thin" - that is a good thing!! That is how they are suppose to be so that you can taste the tomato! Try dipping these in buttermilk ranch dressing - sooo good - but not diet friendly :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have been making and eating fried green tomatoes for over 50 years and the only thing missing was sprinkling with a little sugar when you get through frying them. I takes them up to another level. PS. I am a Kentuckian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I loved this but put my own special twist. I fried a small eggplant along with and then layered the fried vegetables with tomatoe sauce, mozarella, parmesan and a little cottage cheese in my iron skillet then placed it all in the oven on 350 for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Delicious! My family loves 'em! This is the kind of fried green tomatoes I was raised on in Virginia. I agree that the only way to really appreciate this Southern side dish is to use bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
After living all of my 53 years in the south, I can honestly say this is the best and ONLY way to cook fried green tomatoes, in bacon grease. It's a southern tradition. These are great, I do add a little cajun seasoning and a dash of sugar, other than that, I don't change a thing. Everyone that I have ever made these for raved over them and during the months when tomatoes are in over abundance, I make these often. This is by far the very best recipe that any cook can make successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is the recipe I have used my whole life. We are remiss if we don't insist that these be served with a huge pitcher of sweet iced tea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Loved it. I really like the taste of the tomatoes, so I cut them about a half inch thinck, rather than 1/4 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Yeah, finnally a good recipe for green tomatoes. Movie worthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe is fair. Nice color and texture but really lacking flavor - yes I used bacon grease. Needs more kick in the dry coating... salt, paprika, cumin, ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Shirley Allen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States