Kentucky Style Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is a good recipe, but I typically use a tiny sprinkle of salt and buttermilk instead of the regular milk, gives better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FearTheCuteOne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was a good, easy recipe. They coating is quite crispy. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Cooked my first fried green tomatoes the other night using this recipe, and they tasted just like Mom's. I had my oven on 350 so I could keep the first batches warm as I continued to fry. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good recipe. Frying in Lard is highly recommended. Also, fried green tomatoes didn't originate in the South. I was born in Charleston SC and raised in Lancaster SC. I grew up eating and cooking them and they have developed into a Southern dish, but they originated in the Northeast and Midwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I agree with you about the bacon grease, I save it to cook with. I will try this recipe today but I already know they're gonna be delicious, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsappling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe! I changed it up to suit my taste by using breadcrumbs instead of flour and added a bit of sea salt but that's just personal taste. Thanks so much! OH and I'm a Kentucky gal too! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
So quick and easy to do... definitely a must to try for those who want to try different things but with less fuss. I'm not into tomatoes and yet I loved how this one looked and tasted. I used homegrown tomatoes, freshly harvested off my mom's little garden and I don't know if that made all the difference, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisyamey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is the basic recipe, we do a few things differently, we add hot sauce to the milk mixture for a little kick, then we double dip our tomatoes, first in flour to coat, then in the egg mixture, and then dip in the cornmeal and fry it up in bacon grease. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First time I've made Fried Green Tomatoes.. pretty good recipe.. however next time, add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is the only way to fry green tomatoes! I do however, take it up a notch by using buttermilk in stead of regular milk, and as others have suggested, a dash or two of cayenne with a sprinkle of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States