Kentucky Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
AMAZING!!!! Nice and moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This pie is very easy to make and extremely good! I used brown rice syrup in place of the corn syrup and added a teaspoon of vanilla. Turns out wonderfully, not too sweet at all (may be different with corn syrup). I also protect the crust using tin foil for the first 30 min as suggested by others to prevent it from burning during the long cooking time. A word to the wise - make sure the pecans are on top of the filling! The nuts can withstand the heat. if you have the filling on top, it will puff up like a soufle and burn (in my experience). This pie does set up once cooled, but I always bake it on a cookie sheet to make it easier to take out of the oven. It has the consistency of a pecan butter tart, and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This pecan pie was delicious and VERY sweet. I gave it four stars because the directions for baking aren't very explicit. It does take about 50 minutes--but if you're expecting a very firm consistency this may not be the pie for you. When it is done the top has crusted but the interior of the pie still moves; however, it will firm up after you take it out of the oven. I kept mine in for about 50 minutes and didn't want to keep it in longer because the crust was already light brown and the top was dark brown. When it has cooled, the consistency of the pie will be more like caramel. I would recommend this recipe overall, especially since the ingredients are so simple and straightforward. I did add some vanilla and a little bit of cinnamon to mine to give it some extra oomph. This pie got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
While I love to cook and especially to bake, this was my first pie. I normally use coconut sugar instead of white sugar at my home. For those who think this might be too sweet, you might give it a try as it is less sweet that granulated white sugar. I used the recipe here on AR, for the, "french pastry," crust and it was truly divine! It may have been the best tasting pie we've ever had. I feel a bit guilty, giving just 4 stars for this. However, it didn't set up well for me. Perhaps I'll have more success with more practice and some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made two for Thanksgiving 2012; going to make it again this year, very yummy and it held up well, I liked the idea of the vanilla another review recommended. Used brought pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
delicious pie,greatest recipe I've tried !took me back to childhood,i plan on making two for thanksgiving 2013.for myself !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Never Made pecan pie before. This was easy and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is very good, however it is wicked sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Never set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was one of the best pecan pies i have ever had; A GREAT RECIPE. I did make some changes like adding about twice the pecans and I used about 1/4 cup dark corn syrup and 3/4 cup white corn syrup. It is not quite enough to fill a larger or deep pie crust, which is why I added more pecans - but next time I will make about 1 1/2 times the recipe for a deep 9" pie dish. Overall - a fanstic recipe and a keeper - it is going in my recipe box for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States