Kentucky Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I like to follow a recipe, as written, to give a fair review. That said, our family didn't care for this pie. It is more "gooey" than jelly-like (the texture we prefer in pecan pies). Surprisingly, It did hold its shape, despite it's gooey texture. If you are just going for taste, the taste is pretty standard pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I tried for first time today...I chopped 2 cups pecans added to mixture as I hate that sweet gelled center then added decorative nuts on top. Can't figure out how to add photo. ..trust me beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Pitre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
One of the easiest and best-tasting pecan pies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATY77
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I just loved this recipe, so easy to make and easier to eat! I baked one for my mother in law, who suffers from diabetes, I just substituted the corn syrup with agave nectar and it was wonderful, just a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATY77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Delicious!! Added 2 tablespoons of bourbon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe needs 3/4 tsp vanilla, with it his is the best pecan pie. I get rave reviews. Well except for my mother in law. She insisted I use her traditional recipe because hers was better. Funny thing, one year I made both and she loved her recipe but my pie was gone in a flash. There is nothing wrong with the recipe. I have made this for years.*****Don't forget the salt. The trick to balance the sweet is more pecans and how you put the pie together. Put a nice layer of chopped pecans on the bottom before filling, some will rise and become candied on the top. Then put a nice layer of chopped on the top and then decorate with whole. I don't use a lot of whole because it makes it messier to cut up and eat.**** If your pie is too high in the oven it will take longer to set up. Ive always used a glass pan. You have to use a ring to protect the crust. I know at higher altitudes Ive had to put foil over the whole pie for an additional 10 minutes to get it to set. I give it a poke with a toothpick and a wiggle if it jiggles it needs more time. Experienced cooks know cooking times can be approximate. Let it cool completely on the counter to set. I always make mine the night before.******* For deep dish pies add 1/4 more sugar and syrup, one more egg and adjust to 1 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
AMAZING!!!! Nice and moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This pie is very easy to make and extremely good! I used brown rice syrup in place of the corn syrup and added a teaspoon of vanilla. Turns out wonderfully, not too sweet at all (may be different with corn syrup). I also protect the crust using tin foil for the first 30 min as suggested by others to prevent it from burning during the long cooking time. A word to the wise - make sure the pecans are on top of the filling! The nuts can withstand the heat. if you have the filling on top, it will puff up like a soufle and burn (in my experience). This pie does set up once cooled, but I always bake it on a cookie sheet to make it easier to take out of the oven. It has the consistency of a pecan butter tart, and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This pecan pie was delicious and VERY sweet. I gave it four stars because the directions for baking aren't very explicit. It does take about 50 minutes--but if you're expecting a very firm consistency this may not be the pie for you. When it is done the top has crusted but the interior of the pie still moves; however, it will firm up after you take it out of the oven. I kept mine in for about 50 minutes and didn't want to keep it in longer because the crust was already light brown and the top was dark brown. When it has cooled, the consistency of the pie will be more like caramel. I would recommend this recipe overall, especially since the ingredients are so simple and straightforward. I did add some vanilla and a little bit of cinnamon to mine to give it some extra oomph. This pie got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
While I love to cook and especially to bake, this was my first pie. I normally use coconut sugar instead of white sugar at my home. For those who think this might be too sweet, you might give it a try as it is less sweet that granulated white sugar. I used the recipe here on AR, for the, "french pastry," crust and it was truly divine! It may have been the best tasting pie we've ever had. I feel a bit guilty, giving just 4 stars for this. However, it didn't set up well for me. Perhaps I'll have more success with more practice and some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States