Kentucky Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This recipe was awesome. It is the best pecan pie I have ever eaten. Although, I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the recipe. That gave it excellent flavor. I made this pie for Christmas dinner, everyone raved about how wonderful it was. Even people who didn't care for pecan pie said that it was excellent. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Sorry folks, but I bake a lot of pies, and this is NOT a good pecan pie. WAY too sweet, I felt like I was eating a few pecans with my cornsyrup. On a positive note, it sets fine - as a matter of fact it was so thick when I poured it into the shell, it stuck to the spoon! Experienced cooks - try another recipe, this one's not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I had been craving a pecan pie for a while so I decided to search for a recipe with good reviews. This recipe certainly lived up to its rating. I was not used to a deep dish pecan pie though. The kind my Mom always made was more shallow and chewy. This pie is thick and gooey, but delicious. Although the recipe did not call for it I was planning to add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the mixture before baking, but forgot. My pie did not need it, it was wonderful as is. I did take other reviewer's advice though, and added more pecans. YUM!! I will definitely be making this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I would give this more stars if I could. It was sooo very easy to make, and sooo yummy! My mom always makes the pecan pies for family gatherings, but I offered to bring them this year. They were a huge hit! I actually didn't have enough brown sugar for 2 pies - so I made 1 pie with brown sugar and 1 pie with white sugar. They were both fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This makes a very good pecan pie! Nice and rich, the way pecan pie should be! I added a touch of vanilla, but otherwise made it per the recipe and it turned out great. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJDrakester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was my jumping off recipe for a chocolate pecan pie. I'm basing my review for my additions. However, I can't imagine that it wouldn't be grand as it is written. I sprinkled the bottom of the deep dish crust, (unbaked), with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Instead of a full cup of light corn syrup I used 1/2 cup of light corn syrup and 1/2 cup of Lyle's Golden Cane Syrup, and added 2 tsp. of vanilla. It gave the pie a wonderful caramel taste. I did have to bake about 1 1/2, but I tented the pie with aluminum foil so the top wouldn't burn. It was absolutely what I was looking for, and it will be my go-to recipe in the future. Thanks for letting me experiment with your wonderful recipe, Laurie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I love pecan pie and this one is no exception. My only gripe was that it had to cook so long. Knowing this from reading all the reviews, I covered the crust of my pie for all but the last 25 minutes. And the pecans on the top of my pie did burn a little. I'll find a way to remedy that, but overall it will be a good pie to serve at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit with all ages. I did put foil over it until the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Amazing. I turned it into tarts. Used premade shells, and it made 30 tarts. The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Wow this was fantastic!!!! This was the first time to make a pecan pie and was very pleased with the result. I don't have a 1/3 teaspoon so I only added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and it didn't matter at all. Still turned out really good. And I liked the fact that most of the ingredients were already in the pantry. My pie crust was frozen and I thought I had messed up by not thawing it but it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States