Kentucky Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by cidyita
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Awesome! First one I have ever made, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This has been my mom's pie recipe forever and I have never eaten a pecan pie as good. The only issue we ever had was that because the cooking time was so long, sometimes the pecans on top got too browned. This was resolved by putting the pecans in the crust first and pouring the liquid over. It also creates a nice shiny glaze to the top of your pie. As others have mentioned, it should have a teaspoon of vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was my first time making pecan pie. I chose the perfect recipe!!! I added one teaspoon of vanilla as many others did and one tablespoon dark rum. I also doubled the pecans as suggested, I put one cup chopped pecans in the pie and used another cup whole on top. It was so delicious, not too sweet at all. Four of us ate the whole pie in a matter of hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Excellent! I added 2 Tbsp of Maker's Mark bourbon to it - made it even more of Kentucky recipe :-). Thanks for a great, no-fail pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I saw this pie had great reviews, except someone who said it was too sweet. A pecan pie is sweet, they are supposed to be very sweet, hence the large amounts of sugar and corn syrup. This recipe was perfect, my sister always won the grand prize ribbon for pies with a pecan pie that tasted just like this. She would take halved pecans and carefully arrange them on top so it looked perfect just in case you want to try it out in a competition. Lastly, this pie is not the sweetest pecan pie I have ever tasted, there are some that make your teeth hurt from the sweetness, this is not one of them- this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Loved this!!! Easy peezy to make but I put mine in a pecan crumb crust which was the hit it always is in my cheesecake. Ingredients 3/4 cup all-purpose flour 1/4 cup sugar Directions In a bowl, combine the flour, sugar, pecans and lemon peel, cut in butter until crumbly. Combine egg yolk and vanilla; stir into flour mixture. Press onto the bottom of a greased 10-in. springform pan. Bake at 400 degrees F for 8-11 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Cool on a wire rack. 1/4 cup finely chopped pecans 1 teaspoon grated lemon peel 6 tablespoons cold butter (no substitutes) 1 egg yolk 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Really, Really good. Matt's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is usually my goto pecan pie recipe...with 1 tsp of vanilla added....its also known as Dear Abby's Pecan Pie....a delicious pie...for whatever reason as this was being cut at the table it was a gooey mess in the middle....It was totally cooked and looked beautiful as I really try to place my pecans decoratively on top.....even though it tasted very good....I was a bit embarrassed with its "runny-ness". Not sure if the karo syrup has anything to do with this.....I also made Pecan Pie V from this site the other day and that does not call for any corn syrup.....and that pie was amazing to cut w/o any sloppy mess and tasted just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe came out great for me! I added one tea spoon of vanilla, and after I put the pecans on top of the filling, I sprinkled a bit of filling over the top. I will definitely be making this again. My one complaint, and this is very minor and almost always my main complaint, is that the directions are not very exact. For example, I thought that the filling would be more of a paste, and less of a liquid. It set perfectly, but it would have been nice to know that pre-oven the filling was supposed to be very liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was the first pie I had ever made. It was simple and the end result was delicious! It was a little on the sweet side, but I did get lots of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States