Kentucky Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I live with a pecan pie lover, and made this for him. We both think this recipe is fabulous! I only sort-of liked pecan pie until yesterday when I had a bite of this. It is the perfect consistency and flavour. The only change I made is to add more pecans (about 1/2-3/4 cup more). One cup just did not look like enough on the pie. I found that amount of nuts perfectly balanced out the sweetness of the sugar filling. Excellent in the "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" with homemade whipped cream. (Don't whip the cream with too much sugar-- the pie is sweet enough!) Congratulations, Laurie. I now love pecan pie-- but only *this* pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Laurie! This is the best Pecan Pie recipe I had ever had!!! I made it for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years! It doesn't last 24 hours in this house! It is so easy to make! Thank you Laurie for this absolutely delicious recipe!!! I highly recommend this recipe for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
A very good tasting pie, but very sweet and I am a sweet eater. I followed other reviewers advise and used a 10 inch pan and there was not enough filling! I had to make more to fill my pie. Stick with an 8 or 9 inch pan. I did like the color and flavor the brown sugar gave the pie. i will try this again cutting down on the brown sugar by about 1/3rd C.***Update...made this for Thanksgiving using 3/4 C brown sugar. It was perfect! Delicious and buttery tasting without being overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very good taste. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Tasted just like a restaurant pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This pie is FANTASTIC!!! I've made several for gifts and they have gotten RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Super easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was SO, SO, SO good and simple, too! I am not even a pecan pie fan and I had a hard time leaving this alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Tasted wonderful! It was a little runny, maybe add an extra egg. I added pecan halves to the top! Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Super easy to make. I made this for Thanksgiving and it got raves. I cheated and used a bought pie crust. I also had to cover the edges of the crust with foil while baking to prevent burning them. But it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States