Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Louisville is one of my favorite cities in America, but it's also a 6+ hour drive from my home, so this recipe will do in a pinch when I need a Hot Brown fix. The only change I made was adding a splash of white wine and a pinch of dried thyme to the mushrooms, because I'm not a huge mushroom fan and I thought I could dress them up a little. Pretty good - not the best Hot Brown I've ever had, but better than no Hot Browns at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I guess we just don't like bland food. Even with adding cayenne & some worcestershire sbutauce to the cheese, it was too flavorless. I guess it was ok, but we won't be making it again. Now I have a ton of bland cheese sauce we have to find something to do with. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I live in Louisville and the Kentucky Hot Browns I've had have had Mornay sauce smothering the top. The mornay sauce gives it a rich flavor. I love this spin on the hot brown too! Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
after reading the reviews I had to try this version and it was ok. Call me old fashioned but I like it much better making a regular with the mornay sauce using Romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
just not for our family..i won't say anything bad about the recipe it isn't just for us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Omit the mushrooms. Pep Farm white makes better toast for this. Cheddar cheese sauce with a kick of Worcestershire sauce Rotisserie chicken breast can be used in lieu of turkey. If you use tomato slices put them on top of the turkey not on the toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotTarheel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe but for a true Ky Hot Brown do not use mushrooms, use cream instead of milk, no egg, and always toast the bread under a broiler for 1-2 min per side. Country Ham can be added with the turkey giving even a greater "Bluegrass" fare. We love the Hot Browns in Louisville.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I make this every year for the Kentucky Derby and everyone loves it! I make a turkey tenderloin on the grill and use that as the turkey meat. Also, I find the sauce a little bland, so I add a handfull of cheddar cheese, some chicken bouillion and garlic salt to kick it up, and it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am from Kentucky and I love Hot Brown, but I don't see any reviews where they added ham to the recipe. I have never had it without ham in addition to the turkey, and have never had it with mushrooms. I guess it all depends on where you eat. It is always Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States