Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I found Kristie's recipe a few years ago at Derby time and now it's an annual tradition at our house! Be sure to saute the fresh mushrooms until lightly browned for more flavor. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Everyone but my picky 3 year old ate this, but I changed it a little, I used more milk, nuked the mushrooms and to cut down on time I used the pre cooked bacon. My hubby loves spicy stuff so I put his on jalepeno bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JettnTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The kids said this tasted 'weird'. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I was terribly disappointed in this recipe. It didn't taste at all, which was delicious, like I had in a restaurant. This was bland and it didn't have anywhere near enough sauce to "smother that baby" as the person who submitted this recipe suggested. I will try another recipe from another source that uses cheddar (at least 1 cup) for the sauce and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I made this about six months ago and just found it in my recipe box...can't believe I overlooked it, because it was just fantastic! Glad I found it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first time I made this, it became an instant family classic! Use a sturdy bread like sour dough, otherwise the sauce could make the bread soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Great recipe and must be authentic as Kentucky natives endorse it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Yum! I've never eaten anything like this but my husband and I both enjoyed this one. I used dense homemade bread for the toast and it was not in the least soggy. I halved the recipe to serve just my husband and I and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Kentucky lady approved! Here in Kentucky, we eat this often. It is great for holiday leftovers or you could get some turkey sliced thick from the deli. Either way, it is delicious. Also, if you have ham, sometimes we throw them both in. This recipe was on target, but I must say I have never had it with mushrooms, so I did not include them when I made this recipe. The cheese sauce was good, but I will add that you don't necessarily have to use parmesan cheese. Here in Kentucky, we use whatever we have on hand. Suprisingly, Velveeta works great in this recipe. However, if you use Velveeta, don't tell anyone because it cuts down on the classiness of the dish. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I don't mind spending time in the kitchen, but this recipe was sure a lot of work for a sandwich. It was good, but not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States