Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Really tasty -- if you like rich food smothered in cheesy gravy! Good with a side salad and not much else. Will probably try the bread cubed and layered in a casserole next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Well...this was different. It as not gross, but it wasn't wonderful. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This dish is VERY similiar to one you can find served at a wonderful restaurant in the Atlanta area called Chick-A-Fil. Only their's uses chicken breast instead of turkey. DELICIOUS!!! I now live in the Southern California area, so I was very pleased to find this recipe. I never even thought of using turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I love kentucky hot browns, moved to kentucky 9yrs ago,was introduced to this delicious sandwich at one of the wonderful state park dining lodges, thick slices of ham along with the turkey we're in mine, also cheddar cheese on top put under the broiler for a minute added to the yummy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
the original recipe calls for a little cream to be added and doesn't have mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notlikeyourmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My dear friend was born and raised in Kentucky. She has never gotten used to what she deems "odd tasting northern food." Maybe this is that thinking in reverse. To me this was so much work for a sandwich and the combination of the hot sauce, turkey, tomatoes and bacon just did not work for me. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Quick, easy, yummy and passed the 11 year old taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As a Kentuckian, I've eaten many a Hot Brown. This is my first attempt to make one at home, and we really enjoyed it. Quick and easy. I did cut back on the bread, broke the toast in pieces, used diced tomatoes, crumbled the bacon, and made it casserole style. My husband said he'd never cared much for Hot Browns, but really like this version. We'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
As a native of the Derby city, I believe this is a very a good Hot Brown recipe. I recently made this and it was fantastic. Make sure to use a nice thick cut bread so that it doesn't become overly soggy. I also used this sauce plus some frozen chopped onions and a handful of crumbled bacon to make creamed peas when I needed last minute side dish one day. It was very quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States