Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Awesome! I did the casserole version because we were serving a larger crowd for a Derby party. Tore the toast into small pieces, layered it with tomatoes turkey and crumbled turkey bacon (skipped the mushrooms b/c I'm allergic) and then the cheese sauce. Won wave reviews at the party and is definitely a repeat menu item on Derby Day! I should add that we lived in KY for four years and always thought that Hot Browns were awful. This recipe totally changed our minds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
great recipe i changed it a wee bit instead of toasting the bread i make french toast and then follow the recipe and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I married a man from Louisville and I've been making hot browns for 25 years. I too have never heard of mushrooms on one, but to each his own. We have decided over the years that we enjoy a mixture of swiss and cheddar cheese for the cheese sauce. About two cups combined. The other ingredient that we add is a Tbs. of cooking sherry right before finishing the cheese sauce. It gives a great little burst of flavor. Before broiling each hot brown I sprinkle paprika over them for a splash of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Not the best recipe I've tried on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This really can not be bad wth this list of ingredients. It is very heavy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdr3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
After watching the PBS program, "Sandwiches You Will Like," I got a hankering to try a Kentucky Hot Brown. My recipe search brought me to the Allrecipes.com site where I was delighted to find Kristie's version. I invited friends over and served these sandwiches for dinner. They were great! So rich and delicious. Luckily tomatoes are in season, so the sandwiches got an extra boost from those perfectly ripe babies. My sauce was a little stiffer than I would have liked. When I make these again (and I will be making them again!) I will not put the whole 6 tablespoons of flour into the butter right off the bat. Maybe I'll try it with 4 Tablespoons next time. Also, I heated my milk before adding it to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Well, I've never made or even had a Kentucky Hot Brown before, but because it looked intriguing, I've had this in my recipe box for quite awhile and just kept forgetting about it. Last night I watched Bobby Flay's "Throw Down" show and was immediately reminded. As a matter of fact "Downalong", the Brown Hotel you referred to in your review was Bobby's challenge. Although I took one tip from Bobby which was to do the bread French toast style and the hotel boys cheddar sauce, I followed your recipe to a "T". I knew my girls would love this dish, but I wasn't quite as sure about hubby as he's not so into the whole cheese sauce thing. Kristie, I'm so thrilled to tell you that hubs absolutely LOVED your recipe!! I think it's so cool serving a dish that one of our States and/or Countries around the world are so famous for. Thanks Kristie for allowing the rest of us a taste of the Derby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Hot Browns are really good. My wife loves them. I had made them before at the restaurant I worked at but couldn’t remember how to make the gravy. This recipe is great and it takes no time at all! I am still in search of a good ham...Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Brannock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is very rich, but quite good. Per other users suggestions I served it as a casserole- as with all food, it's only as good as the ingredients so make sure you have bread and turkey that you really like (dietz and watson's honey maple is fabulous)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebergle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I made a half recipe of this for two of us, and I think that next time, I'll save half for leftovers. It was really good, but really heavy and filling. I cut back on the turkey, and I think it still had plenty. One piece would be more than enough for me, along with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States